Drupal

Open source platform voor contentbeheer

Totaalscore

4,2 /5
(381)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,4/5
Functies
4,2/5
Gebruiksgemak
3,5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,0/5

82%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

381 reviews

Jason
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Anders 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Drupal is a fantastic CMS

Beoordeeld op 29-7-2019

I like it a lot but because of their update cycle it should only be used on projects that have a lifespan of 5 years or less.

Pluspunten

Views is the best thing about Drupal. Pre-Views, Drupal is a decent CMS, perhaps a bit more logical than WordPress, but with a lot less users it's hard to justify it. However with Views, you can make advanced applications with a pretty easy to learn interface. It's really, really close to a visual programming language, although there are still some things you'll need to break out the code for.

I also really appreciate that most of the modules don't make too many assumptions. With WordPress, I constantly have to fight against styling and strangely formatted HTML inserted by plugins, and that's less common with Drupal modules.

Minpunten

It requires a fairly beefy hosting setup and a good caching setup to perform well. I also strongly, STRONGLY dislike that sites created five years ago now HAVE to be rebuilt, or they are not secure. That may be fine for enterprise, but it sucks for someone who makes lots of small sites for small businesses. Platforms should be supported for at least ten years IMO, the web has been stable for a while now and there's no good reason to force complete rebuilds. WordPress does this better and manages to continually keep sites upgradeable without a rebuild.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

Drupal is a good choice over WordPress for projects that require a searchable database, where Views is at its best. WordPress is a better choice for SEO-focused projects because of Rank Math and other great SEO tools that exist only in the WordPress ecosystem. I don't even understand how Joomla is still a thing. Almost all of its plugins appear outdated. I haven't used it in over a decade, but there's a reason for that.
Philip
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Good Content Management Platform

Beoordeeld op 12-8-2022

Overall we’ve had a good experience with Durpal. Once we have a site published our marketing teams who aren’t technical users can self serve and manage their content. This feels up our IT staff to focus on more complex issues and gives marketing full control of their content.

Pluspunten

Durpal is a powerful and easy to use platform. It has a fairly easy to understand GUI that can be used by users of various levels of technical skills for content and website management

Minpunten

Durpal has its limits and it’s important you don’t make make things more complex than needed. We found that when used for more simple sites it works well but if you have multiple layers of data it may be best to use a different platform.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress

Redenen om voor Drupal te kiezen

We decided to bring our web content in house.

Overgestapt van

GoDaddy Website Builder

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

Durpal was more flexible
Hylda
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Publiceren
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

Drupal is not ideal for websites that update content minute-by-minute

Beoordeeld op 16-9-2022

While Drupal was good at first, the continual upgrades often rendered our site unstable and it ceased to be cost-effective to keep up with upgrades .

Pluspunten

Initially, Drupal operated well and suited our needs.

Minpunten

Limited formatting options, image library significantly slower as the library grew, and updates were cost prohibitive.

Bradley
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Drupal - CMS for Enterprise

Beoordeeld op 2-6-2022

Drupal is the most flexible, secure, and enterprise-ready CMS. Its meant for mid-tier+ businesses where SEO, content management, integration, and digital capability are critical. We use Drupal extensively for Government, Post-Secondary Education, Pharmaceutical and Multi-brand enterprises extensively, it minimizes GTM time, satisfies compliance requirements and its modular nature makes it possible for businesses to quickly re-use functionality across their ecosystem (with the appropriate build strategies).

If you need a brochureware website, it might not be the best solution (equivalent of taking out a mosquito with a bazooka).

The SEO and security capabilities OOTB are second to none, and integration capabilities are extensive. This is why its the gold standard for university platforms (71 of top 100 universities), and used in many government projects where security is a priority.

Pluspunten

The security, open-source community, flexibility and capabilities are hands down the most important elements of this CMS for my/our use.

The ability to extend and leverage modules to provide high business value capabilities are core to the software.

Minpunten

The learning curve for development is hefty but worthwhile.

The administrative learning curve can also be heavy depending on how your agency/team has set up the software.

For any mid-tier business and above, this is the open-source CMS of choice.

Overwogen alternatieven

Content Hub, WordPress, Joomla en HubSpot CRM

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

Drupal was chosen for a variety of reasons. Leveraging an open-source platform, our clients are removed from vendor lock-in, there is a massive community to support the product (so its not going anywhere soon), and its more versatile then the competitors. Drupal is engineered and can be bent to do just about anything, whereas CMS like WordPress (WP) are great for "agencies" that just plug in content to a ready-made system that is not intended to provide further value than a brochure site. Once digital capabilities are a requirement, WP is extremely limiting.
Reece
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

The Best CMS

Beoordeeld op 10-2-2021

Excellent. Very nostalgic to think about my journey with this software. I have built countless websites over the years using Drupal, and my experience has been varied.

Pluspunten

Drupal is, in my opinion, the best open source CMS available. I have seen it grow since version 4.0 and heavily used it right up until version 7. Drupal 6 was the golden era. There are countless extensions, most of which are completely free and built by a passionate community. If you need a fast, reliable CMS for free, this is the first place you should start.

Minpunten

Since the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] left, things haven't felt the same. It has sadly become more up-market and commercial. However the core software and extensions still remain, and it is still probably the best CMS on the market.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

DRUPAL DEPLOYMENT

Beoordeeld op 16-5-2019

I have generated multiple content management systems with DRUPAL, it is a great ally for the developer because of its easy connection with thousands and thousands of plugins, it also allows the generation and creation of them from native php

Pluspunten

It is easy to generate its deployment in production and testing environments

Minpunten

It is not a complaint but sometimes when making a modification the cache is not cleaned immediately and you should wait

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

La experiencia de desarrollo es mas amigable, y se contaba con mas experiencia para este CMS
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Ziekenhuis- en gezondheidszorgbranche
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Most secured open source CMS in town

Beoordeeld op 26-8-2022

No words to say it is up to my level of understanding. Good software

Pluspunten

I like it because of the highly secured and solid performance it gives to the user. Easy to use dashboard is the key to its popularity.

Minpunten

I am little uncomfortable with drupal just because i was little confused and find little hard to learn its overall flexibility for the firsttime i use it. After knowing its capabilities i found it is the best.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1-5 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

Review on Drupal

Beoordeeld op 6-9-2022

Pluspunten

It’s is best CMS for developing the retails and business website.

Minpunten

It’s require the training before use
Need to know about PHP concepts

Matthew
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 5.0 /10

Drupal has come a long way

Beoordeeld op 15-9-2022

Pluspunten

Thanks to its open source nature, Drupal is becoming a lot more flexible and powerful. In terms of learning curve it's not much different to WordPress, and I found nodes and content to be just as rich in terms of editing and customising.

Minpunten

I felt upgrading between versions was a hassle. Drupal wasn't as easy to upgrade between plugin and core versions compared to CMS such as wordpress.

Elisabeth
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Tekstschrijvers
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Maandelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 4.0 /10

I've used this product for a while and didn't love it.

Beoordeeld op 15-9-2022

Pluspunten

Its interactive and thankfully helps bypass code. Which is what you need at times...

Minpunten

It was difficult to use. I often got confused about plugins and was not for someone who was just starting with website design (I've advanced and probably would enjoy more now) but I think it still needed more ease to use for people.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Always Flexible

Beoordeeld op 5-1-2021

I have solved various business use cases with Drupal. I've been able to build standard marketing web sites, real estate sites, work order system, online calendar scheduling, and a multitude of other types of sites. This is all possible via the modules available and the software being open source.

Pluspunten

The most impactful feature of Drupal is that the software is open source. This means it is full extendable and allows new features to be created to enhance the product by end users. The flexibility this provides to continue growing a web site makes it priceless. The community around the project is amazing and has provided excellent modules to get a site up and running easily.

Minpunten

The product does not lack features. There is a learning curve to get started, but every new product has a learning curve. The hook system allows integrating to the site, but does have a learning curve to understand the various hooks that are available.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

Drupal provided more features than those that were available with Joomla or WordPress. The user permission system and editing system was much more robust.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Hoger onderwijs
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Drupal is difficult but worth it

Beoordeeld op 2-11-2020

It was very difficult to get started with the product but I find the flexibility more than rewarding as I perceive an unlimited ceiling in developing with the product.

Pluspunten

Drupal's ability to fit every potential need is what originally drew me to the platform and keeps me developing in it's rich environment.

Minpunten

It's very challenging to get started in Drupal. Naming conventions concerning views, nodes, taxonomy, menu items, panels, modules and tokens can be confusing and particularly overwhelming to a beginner.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla

Redenen om voor Drupal te kiezen

Wordpress's core product was too simple and full of frustrating "gotchas". It seemed that to get anything setup except a basic site would require the purchasing of multiple plugins.

Overgestapt van

WordPress

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

Drupal appeared to have the most professional large-company client base.
Imad
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Bouw
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

Great for multiple teams in different Regions

Beoordeeld op 27-9-2020

Overall, it gives me the peace of mind that I don't need to learn coding to update my website.

Pluspunten

Once it's set-up, which I'm sure would be a complicated task, it gets very easy to modify things on the website. Even people who don't know website building, can easily update their websites.

Minpunten

Once the webiste is built, there is not much room to move around, be creative. The design layout is fixed and no place where you can modify them, as a user ofcourse.

Overwogen alternatieven

Wix

Redenen om voor Drupal te kiezen

You need to know some amount of coding for this which wasn't helping me and my team.

Overgestapt van

WordPress

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

More secure, easier for multiple team members to work on it and update it.
Bryan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Managementconsulting
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Drupal 8 is my go to for Website Development

Beoordeeld op 21-10-2019

One of the most significant of business problems that I am solving by using this software for my consulting business is being able to provide a secure and stable website. The software itself informs me of when updates to the software or modules are available and those updates have always been painless and easy to implement.

Similarly, creating websites for clients has also been easier with use of the Drupal 8 software as it reduces the need for repetitive tasks that tend to be associated with either creating websites file by file or the use of some of the other CMS software solutions that are available. I have also found that installing and setting up client websites using the Drupal 8 software is much easier than some of the other CMS software solutions that I have used in the past.

Pluspunten

One of the things that I like the most about this software is its reliability and flexibility in being able to adapt to the various needs of businesses wishing to have an online presence.

Minpunten

Throughout my use of this software, I can not truthfully think of anything that I don't like about this software as it has significantly improved over the past seven years.

Overwogen alternatieven

Joomla

Redenen om voor Drupal te kiezen

I made the switch from WordPress because Drupal 8 gave me greater control over the appearance of my website with a fresh install and little need for the installation of additional modules and plugins. While WordPress also offered and made notice of regular updates that were painless to install, I found that not all of the verified plugins provide a desirable effect on the website (sometimes these changes aren't readily visible outside of search engines such as Google sending notice of problems).

Overgestapt van

WordPress

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

While Drupal and Joomla have similarities in the flexibility that they offer in the design and development of websites and the availability of plugins, modules, and extensions, I found that Joomla! seems to have changed the way plugins for the software are made available through its website. Unfortunately, in that change, the modules, extensions, and plugins listed on the Joomla! website aren't always what they are listed to be as some of the developers of these Joomla! additions/modifications use the listings as a means of driving traffic to their website rather than on the delivery of what was indicated in the listing.
Joaquin
Totaalscore
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

One of the most robust and secure Web CMS in the market

Beoordeeld op 27-7-2018

The security of having a tool that allows me to deal with almost any web project that requires content management, scalability and security.

Pluspunten

If you have to face the development of an intranet or a medium or complex web project, Drupal is definitely one of the options that you have to consider. It is open source backed by a large community that has been committed for years to a project that is characterized by its flexibility and security. Drupal provides a robust content authoring platform and is capable of handling large numbers of users with clear rules and permits.

One of the bases of Drupal is its system of modules. Eventually, almost any functionality you may need can be added to the system through modules (built based on PHP, JavaScript, HTML and CSS). And yet, I bet you will not even have to develop it, because surely it will already be available among the immense amount of modules that the community has contributed during these years (especially for version 7).

The theme system is another of the important element. If you do not need to develop your own interface from scratch, you can choose one of the large number of free themes available and adapt it to your needs, being able to even configure many features without modifying the source code. Certainly, it does not seem like a very intuitive method, but once you understand it you can implement almost everything you need.

In its latest version, Drupal has been almost completely modernized; it has discarded many failures that hindered its performance and have included in its core many important functionalities that were contributed by modules.

Minpunten

Drupal can be difficult to deal with for non-developer or technical profile users. Depending on your objectives, the learning curve can be considerable.

The fact of being an almost module-dependent system for most of the functionalities can force you to deal with many configurations, compatibility issues and workflows when you want to implement complex functionalities that may even need several modules working together. As I see it, this is not necessarily a negative thing, but rather the cost of the flexibility and power it gives you.

If the design and the appearance are important in your project, you will have to put a little more effort into the work; unfortunately, many of Drupal's graphic themes do not look as fashionable or in trend as those of WordPress, which is still the leader in this section. It is possible to achieve it, but you will have to dedicate time or pay for it.

As the number of modules and the database grows, the performance of Drupal may be affected, so it is important to learn to keep it in shape and updated, activate the cache and continuously evaluate the relevance and usefulness of each of the added modules. Although it has been greatly optimized with the arrival of Drupal 8, it is not something that should be neglected in medium and large projects.

Daniel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Drupal has Evolved into a Great CMS

Beoordeeld op 30-11-2017

Peace of mind, in regard to security.

With a bit of customization, it makes managing web development projects much simpler and more productive.

Releases like Thunder and Lightning hold the potential to become ever-better 'jump starts' toward the ideal CMS for publishing collaboratively.

Pluspunten

Open Source GPL v2.0 or later = no license fees, ever. That's hard to beat, but the fact is that it's the better solution (even if it wasn't free). I've used it before, constantly revisiting; hoping it could be what 8.4.x is now.

Know that "Enterprise Level Security" doesn't make it bulletproof, but that there are scores of highly skilled folks constantly pouring over every aspect of this software, with each component required to complete stringent testing before it gets a pass -- using experimental modules 'n such can reduce these benefits, soOo... do your homework.

Biggest Pro? It isn't Wordpress.

If properly installed and maintained, it's one of the best possible solutions. That's why so many government agencies, or even governments themselves, have built upon Drupal.

I have 500+ active domains, and have used Drupal 100+ times or more. It's been our best choice, in most cases.

Minpunten

Documentation is sorta thin, which is often the case with major releases of open source software solutions, but it isn't that difficult to find answers: People often answer others that have encountered similar problems.

The 'steep learning curve' isn't such a hard climb, since there are countless videos and tutorials out there... it's easily worth the trouble, even if you have no background in programming of web development.

Installation could be made far simpler (e.g. the 'trusted host configuration' should be set up by the installer itself). But, it is hard to complain when -- sorta ashamed that I haven't put in the hours it takes to affect these changes I'd like to see.

Manual (and frequent) updates are a bit of a pain, but it sure beats software that isn't being so actively developed as to require updates. Or, worse still, have nobody watching what the others offer as plug-in.

Again: It's hard to complain without having put in nearly the time that countless others have (we all oughta give back, when/where we can ~;-)

Madhu
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Grafisch ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Phenomenal software

Beoordeeld op 10-9-2017

Pluspunten

Drupal has seven main Pros:

1) It's uses a very flexible system of modules.

You can use Drupal modules to add new features to your site.

For example, the Membership module lets you add member based services, the Video modules lets you host video clips, while the Commerce module lets you add shopping features.

Each modules is made up of smaller modules, which ensures you only activate the bits you need for your project.

Best of all, you can mix and match the modules to create things the original module designers might have never considered. For example, combine the Commerce, Membership and Video modules to create a paid for membership site of training videos.

2) It's very layered.

In Drupal, system code lives in one layer, code to do with appearance (e.g. CSS, HTML) lives in another separate layer and custom modifications live in another separate layer.

This makes it very easy to change things. For example, you can change the entire layout of your site without having to modify the original content to adapt to it.

3) It's free

Remarkably, the core technology and all these modules are available for free. There are some themes that you have to pay for if you want to change the look of your site, but you can make your own themes and there are number of free themes as well.

4) Great user support

Drupal has a good support network of dedicated and helpful users who are willing to provide plenty of free help. There's also free training videos on YouTube.

5) Plenty of updates

Drupal releases minor updates on a monthly basis which address any of bugs or security concerns that crop up. There are also major updates every 2-3 years, which radically change the functionality of the core system.

6) Portable code

Most code can easily be transferred between sites. Hence, if you create a function on one site, you can move it to another without having to re-do it all from scratch.

7) Don’t need strong coding skills

Drupal's module system means you can easily achieve a lot without needing to know how to code. It might not look and function exactly as you want, but it will be a decent effort.

Minpunten

Drupal has 2 main set backs:

1) It can get very complicated

The down side of all the flexibility, is that there are often 10 ways to do one thing in Drupal and it's not always clear which method is best. Often the only way you can find out is through experience. Which means your early Drupal projects might not be as good as they could be, as you cut your teeth on learning which methods are best for you.

2) Your code won’t last forever.

Every 2-3 years, Drupal releases a new major update which radically changes the functionality of the site. The plus side of this is that it makes Drupal better. The downside is that you will often have to completely re-write your custom code. Because these major updates change everything, you will often need to install new modules to replace old ones. Essentially you have to rebuild your site (thankfully all the content can be transferred over).

Upgrading isn't a requirement. But after a couple of years, the older versions of Drupal are no longer supported. So if building a Drupal site, expect to redo it from scratch it in 3-5 years. Hence, it's not really good for projects which only have a budget for minor changes each year.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Religieuze instellingen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Very well engineered CMS

Beoordeeld op 30-9-2020

Drupal has been an excellent CMS and has helped us greatly in implementing and maintaining a data driven website.

Pluspunten

We've been using Drupal for our websites for many years and have found it to be a very well engineered Content Management System (CMS). We have a comprehensive back catalog of sermons and songs and Drupal has the best data storage and organisation system of the open source CMS systems. It has been a pleasure to work with Drupal and how it has been designed from the ground up to handle all manner of complicated scenarios seamlessly.

Minpunten

With the transition to Drupal 8 and beyond, a lot of contributed modules that we were using on Drupal 7 became unusable and there seems to be no plan to update these modules from the contributors. We've had to look into paying extra for custom module programming to update to Drupal 8.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla

Redenen om voor Drupal te kiezen

It was becoming unwieldy to use static HTML.

Redenen om over te stappen op Drupal

The superior data management system of Drupal.
Adam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

The Supreme CMS

Beoordeeld op 12-2-2021

It was a difficult process to start. I came from Wordpress which was stupid simple, but once I learned Drupal and realized the power it had I was completely sold. It's great for all sizes of projects and has a great community of people using it.

Pluspunten

Drupal's content management struct and philosophy is so robust. It can handle any kind of content, not just blog posts. The ability to model data exactly how you want it and even query and create views is unparalleled.

Minpunten

The learning curve on Drupal is high. The documentation is cumbersome and so it's difficult to know where to begin without help from somebody who already knows. That said, once you "get" Drupal you'll never look back

Adam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Drupal is a premium enterprise solution

Beoordeeld op 3-11-2019

We have been using Drupal for over a decade and regularly check it against other products in the field. We still believe this open source project is one of the best on the planet.

Pluspunten

Drupal provides a huge amount of power in a Content Management System. The latest version Drupal 8 is enterprise level software available as open source so while it is free to download and use, you will need a professional to get it doing everything you need. That said, with the right help - you can pretty much do anything online with Drupal. There is also an amazing community to access who will do what they can to help.

Minpunten

Drupal does require Drupal experts to get the most out of it - if you are new to software and software development, you would be wise to get a consultant or Drupal development company to help. This doesn't come cheap, but it does give you huge amount of power to design and develop exactly the website or software that you want.

Overwogen alternatieven

WordPress en Joomla
Stephen
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Landbouw
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Drupal is a CMS that can do it all.

Beoordeeld op 5-12-2017

Pluspunten

The best part about Drupal is that you can do anything and the best functionality is either in Drupal core or a free module at Drupal.org. There is a misconception that the learning curve is difficult. In comparison, achieving the basic needs of a brochure website are the same in all of the top CMS solutions. Aside from comparisons, the best tool within Drupal is Views. You can create lists and grids of data that can then be sorted, filtered, and altered in so many ways without adding any additional modules. Of course you can extend views and provide even better data lists or different view types but the ability to display and work with items that reside in the system is unlike any other system.

Minpunten

With so many options available to you, the learning curve comes with learning how to best use the best module for the job. There may be 5-10 modules that achieve a result, but in the end, there may only be one module that does it exactly how you want it. So the complexity is in the trial and error of having multiple options. So you may waste time working through the complexities of a module and realize that was not the main intent of the module or it doesn't quite do everything you wanted. This is worth it to me though as I will then be able to understand how different modules can be used in different ways to perform different functions.

Patrick
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best open source CMS

Beoordeeld op 10-6-2019

Well over half of my agency's digital business id conducted through Drupal websites and applications. We have used it with great success on anything from small, basic websites to full-scale business-critical applications.

Pluspunten

My favorite part of Drupal is that it is really built to be more of a platform than just a CMS. To see what I mean, look up e-commerce platforms on WordPress, Joomla, or basically any direct competitor. You will find many options available that do things slightly different than each other. In Drupal, there is really only one option, and a slew of submodules to build out the functionality you need. This results in a much more stable, secure, reliable and consistent platform.

Second is the community. Everyone is on board with the idea of keeping it a platform and working together to make Drupal a great, modular CMS. Support, tutorials, documentation, and basic question/answers are readily available.

Minpunten

The upgrade paths between major versions is historically challenging. Drupal has promised to correct thing going from Drupal 8 to 9, but it is not yet available to confirm. As with any open source tool, you do have to be sure to keep up with any and all security updates to maximize security.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Ideal for collaborative work in corporate media

Beoordeeld op 4-1-2019

My overall experience with Drupal has been good, I prefer it as a manager and portal design before others, the only thing that happened is that the platform fell when a news had many entries at a time.

We manage a news page and its content search engine is very effective and reliable. And the roles of the users, to execute changes in the page are very useful, in addition the trace is faithful.

Pluspunten

It is an ideal software to edit a corporate communication medium among several collaborators, the allocation of roles to each user, allows the levels of publication and approval to be faithful and thus errors are avoided, as well as assigning or changing roles in the users.

It is very easy to use, and the variety of features it brings allows you to alternate with designs and templates, which are very easy to edit and move, without the need to make new purchases or downloads.

The drupal community is very knowledgeable and willing to help solve problems. In addition, security levels are higher than other content managers.

Minpunten

For those who are starting a web page and do not have programming knowledge, it can be difficult to find a lot of modules, but once you take the rhythm you can have a different page in both look and feel and functionalities.

It also tends to hang when there are many entries at once to its database; or the server goes down.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Great software made by a great community that uses and enforces best practices

Beoordeeld op 22-8-2019

Pluspunten

With Drupal, you can make almost anything you can imagine even (and mostly) complex sites/apps without the need for starting from scratch. This is possible because of its great (in terms of quality and size) community and contributed modules.

Some features I like the most of Drupal:

- Myriad of contributed modules
- Security
- Possibility to work with several environments and replicate a site/config/contents from code
- Great documentation, repositories, issues... everything you need in one place
- Backend allows managing most of the tasks using a great user interface
- Multilingual
- Community
- Encourages and enforces best practices
- Possibility to perform most actions from command line
- ...

Minpunten

It has a steep learning curve
Last 8.x version requirements are quite elevated

Anna Rabeeca
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Farmaceutica
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Drupal is a good software to build large and complex websites

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2022

I was looking for better platform to build large website which provides me better admin portal and this portal solved my all problems related to this. It is working smoothly and providing me faster websites which are secure. I can easily export its content into other system anytime.

Pluspunten

It is designed for structured data so your data can be reusable and accessed by other pages. It is unproblematic to install and has simple interface. You can implement your websites in different languages. When it comes to security it provides great services. It is well suited for those websites who need admin portal more to use. Its websites are fast, scalable, and quite easy to understand. It is a secure platforms for large organizations. It is most suited for large and global enterprises. It enables your various level of controls. Its content can easily be exported in other systems.

Minpunten

In Drupal, the templates are limited. They could provide better way to install and upgrade it whenever needed. Its admin side is very hard to understand and get hands on it. If you are doing simple thing so it would be simple to use but for advanced capabilities it becomes more complex to use. For extra add- on you must need to buy it because not all are free.