GitHub

Platform voor sociale codering en samenwerkende ontwikkeling

Totaalscore

4,8 /5
(5.981)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,6/5
Functies
4,7/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,4/5

98%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

5980 reviews

Christopher
Christopher
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Research
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Industry standard in source control and more

Beoordeeld op 27-4-2023

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of...

A valuable service providing a number of tools for productive collaboration and management of source code. For academics, it's a no brainer to use GitHub with their educational offerings to help prepare your students for the industry.

Pluspunten

GitHub provides a single service where source code control, documentation, issue tracking, and more are possible. All of these aspects are well integrated and can even reference lines from the source from different commits. Pricing for academics is extremely generous.

Minpunten

There's not much to not like in GitHub. It does a lot of things well. Some little things can be improved like better user administration and creating a way for users to sign-up for your organization rather than inviting a user to join your organization.

Emanuele
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Daily companion for development and project management.

Beoordeeld op 13-2-2024

It's been a pleasant and productive experience, I use it on daily basis with no issues.

It's been a pleasant and productive experience, I use it on daily basis with no issues.

Pluspunten

The code version control features are comprehensive and allow you to have a clear view of what is happening even with many branches, pull requests and issues. Github Projects is a flexible and powerful tool for project management, subdivision into development tasks and their assignment, and for having an overview of the general state of development .With the paid plans there are even more management options, especially related to the features for managing member and team permissions.

Minpunten

Nothing to say about version control, while github projects may be unintuitive and a bit cumbersome at first, but then again it's a price to pay for its flexibility.

Lallchand
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Defensie en ruimtevaart
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

GitHub review

Beoordeeld op 24-11-2021

Very good , use for source control

Very good , use for source control

Pluspunten

It stores all revisions , has a good tracking system, used by various companies

Minpunten

Everything is command line and sometimes don’t remember all the commands

Dylan
Dylan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Simply indispensable. Github is where developers live.

Beoordeeld op 23-1-2024

I couldn't live without Github. As a developer, I spend 50%+ of my day interacting with their...

I couldn't live without Github. As a developer, I spend 50%+ of my day interacting with their tooling and it makes my day-to-day so much easier than any other tooling I've used. There is very little functionality locked behind a paywall, whether you're a small business or a solo developer, you get an awful lot of runway out of the free tier, you may even never have to enter the paid tier.
Their ecosystem is vast, and they keep bringing out new tooling like Dependabot, Github Actions, Github CoPilot and more that just keep on making my life better.

Pluspunten

Github makes it incredibly easy to perform all the daily tasks I need to do as a developer. The quality of life on Github vs any other version-control platform I've ever used is second to none.

Minpunten

I honestly can't think of anything, I use Github for every line of code I've ever written and interact with it daily and I can't think of a single gripe off the top of my head. If there's a con, it's so minor that I doesn't even register.

gabriele
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Automotive
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best source control software

Beoordeeld op 10-3-2024

amazing, i've been using this for years and will still use it in future

amazing, i've been using this for years and will still use it in future

Pluspunten

It is an easy-to-use, user-friendly, and fast tool that provides complete and comfortable source control.

Minpunten

none, github is the best compared to the competitors

Adam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitHub the right choice for almost every business

Beoordeeld op 19-3-2024

Pluspunten

Setup and access controls were easy clear but still had the required features to accomplish our goals.

Minpunten

Nothing much, a few features gated behind the higher tier would be my only gripe.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab
Federica
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Authentic Platform for Task Management

Beoordeeld op 27-3-2024

The intentional support that the software gives is something that creates a financial improvements...

The intentional support that the software gives is something that creates a financial improvements for companies.

Pluspunten

The program has the right procedure for tasks evaluation and business management.

Minpunten

The timely organization that the software has brings a focused way in controlling business operations.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Using GitHub as a student.

Beoordeeld op 2-4-2024

first I really into the project building and coding stuff but I want a platform so I can easily...

first I really into the project building and coding stuff but I want a platform so I can easily manage my containing element and I want to show my work to the public . then I heard about Github in 2020 in lockdown phase from YouTube after that I was start and I am really into it now. this is the best thing that I use in my day by day careers lifestyle.

Pluspunten

Developing Features
Community support
User Interface
Task management

Minpunten

not beginner friendly
complex version control

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Luchtvaart(maatschappijen)
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Superb platform to develop software

Beoordeeld op 1-4-2024

Now, it has been around 3 years with Github. I feel comfortable and enjoying the code.

Now, it has been around 3 years with Github. I feel comfortable and enjoying the code.

Pluspunten

My all team members using Github for computational fluid dynamic code devlopment.

Minpunten

Initially, It was little confusing with linux machines.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Our go-to free git management platform

Beoordeeld op 25-3-2024

I've been a user of GitHub since about 2014. I've always loved how easy it is to setup with...

I've been a user of GitHub since about 2014. I've always loved how easy it is to setup with existing code bases. Tons of integrations to make auto-deployment a breeze. Microsoft taking ownership in 2018 and allowing all free users to have unlimited private repositories was a huge win.

Pluspunten

Ease of use. Uptime. Integrations. Microsoft account association.

Minpunten

Support is mid-tier with Microsoft being the parent company and outsourcing most of the support.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 1.001-5.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Github for personal and enterprise use

Beoordeeld op 2-5-2019

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have...

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pluspunten

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Minpunten

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.
Alex
Alex
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Beoordeeld op 25-8-2019

Pluspunten

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Minpunten

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.
Jonathan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best git hosting

Beoordeeld op 15-11-2019

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pluspunten

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Minpunten

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Github has a much better repo interface than Bitbucket in my opinion.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best source code management

Beoordeeld op 10-2-2020

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has...

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pluspunten

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Minpunten

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Overwogen alternatieven

Assembla

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Most of the developers we hired in the past were not familiar with Assembla and hard time convincing them to use it. It was not as popular as GitHub in the developer community.

Overgestapt van

Assembla

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.
Chris
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

Beoordeeld op 9-6-2020

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track...

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pluspunten

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Minpunten

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is the most stable platform, and our engineers are the most known with GitHub. Compared with GitLab and Bitbucket, GitHub has the most available integrations into other solutions, and has the lowest pricing. This all made us making the decision to rely on GitHub.
Omar Eduardo
Omar Eduardo
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Great for teaching coding classes!

Beoordeeld op 15-5-2021

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more...

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pluspunten

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes.

To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off.

If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features.

For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Minpunten

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems.

For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Overwogen alternatieven

Dropbox Business en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.
Jorge
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best choice for version control for small and large projects

Beoordeeld op 20-11-2021

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to...

It has been great software to be honest I will highly suggest it since it's very accessible to anyone, they offer a lot of plans and pricings.

Pluspunten

There are some key features that makes GitHub a great tool for version control. In the first place all the process of having control over branches setting permissions and the vast options for configuration in the repository you have are great. It has one of the best pull request section, it allows for commenting more than one line which is great for making comments. As well GitHub have integrated great tools like the pipelines we can create to have continuos integration.

Minpunten

Some time for me GitHub has been built without an intuitive UI and checking even the smallest and easiest thing like a date you need to hover over another date to tell you the complete hour and time of a commit per say. So this kind of stuff makes GitHub sometimes difficult for new joiners of the software but as you get to use it more.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

GitHub is more widely used around the software development. It has made giant leaps to catch up to Atlassian integrations like creating tickets inside of github and stuff like that.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It provided the overall best experience and pricing.
Amitava
Amitava
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Goto Source control for software developers

Beoordeeld op 16-2-2022

Pluspunten

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Minpunten

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Overgestapt van

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best source control system ever

Beoordeeld op 29-6-2022

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it...

It always sent clear messages to help myself find myself at the development, no matter the stage it is. It always provided simple and safe tools to helpe me whenever I needed. In general I am very satisfied with the tool. Nowadays I do not pay for any use, for I do not ned it, but I will gladely pay again when the time cames.

Pluspunten

In addition to being one of the first platforms of its kind and a great choice for software project management, github went further and became a true developer network, the first one I guess. Many companies hire exclusively considering the particular repository of each developer what mekes the employees even more eggor to lear the environment.

Minpunten

Not much but yet a little above the price if compared to other rivals.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Between others git was developed by Linus Torvalds, a code versioning tool by developers to developers and it led us to use git, from there we needed something remote, something easy to use and them we ended up using git, the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It was the most popular of that time (and probably yet the most popular)
Ranu
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The ultimate source code manager.

Beoordeeld op 24-9-2022

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from...

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from version controlling to setup my own CI/CDs for various products on multiple cloud service providers and I really like their UI.

Pluspunten

First of all it got very simple, easy to understand and user friendly user interface tool that can be user by anyone within hours of it deployment. Most of the functions can be accessed with both command line and through dashboard too. Also CI/CD is one of the best feature that it provides and reduces manual efforts of code deployments. It provide supports for almost all languages and even it raises mail for some security vulnerabilities found by it. Best part you can have both public and private repos.

Minpunten

There is no any such issues I have found. Just few features are there for which you need to pay.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

The UI was bit complicated to understand for team.

Overgestapt van

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It is very user friendly tool and there are lot of open source features provided by it.
Jerome
Jerome
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitHub - The standard for Git repos in the Cloud

Beoordeeld op 7-11-2022

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

I started with GitHub's free option as a trial and it went so well, we just kept using it.

Pluspunten

GitHub continues to improve with tools focused on helping developers. The base account that is free offers tons of features. When you are ready to test out the paid features, the value is there as well. I like that it is an optional upgrade since not every organization needs them.

Minpunten

When someone says 'GitHub can do it', it is getting harder to know if it is GitHub Free or one of the paid options. If you aren't following GitHub's releases, you can get left behind quite quickly.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub's free option satisfied the need and nailed the features we were using. Once trying it, we didn't look any further.
Gabriel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Verzekeringen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Beoordeeld op 23-9-2020

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and...

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pluspunten

Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Minpunten

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Ease of use and pricing :)

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Pricing and ease of use
Emil
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A User's Perspective: My experience with Github

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2023

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and...

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and management of code changes, collaboration with other developers, and open-source development. It also has a large and helpful community and can be used to showcase your work to potential employers. However, it can be expensive, has limited storage on the free plan and some issues with UI and navigation, limited support for certain languages, and limited scalability for large enterprises. Additionally, it has limited control over data and privacy and lack of built-in project management features.

Pluspunten

Github has significantly altered the way I approach software development projects; I've been using it for a while now. It has been incredibly simple to collaborate with other developers and keep track of my code thanks to the version control feature. The tools for code review and issue tracking are particularly helpful because they make it simple to keep track of any bugs or adjustments that need to be made. Github also has a lot going for it in terms of open-source development. Numerous open-source projects have allowed me to participate and utilize them, and the supportive and welcoming community is always there to help. Building my portfolio and showcasing my work to potential employers has also been a great benefit. The ability to integrate with my continuous integration and deployment services, for example, was made possible by Github's integrations with other tools. I can manage the permissions of my project contributors with ease thanks to the access control feature. I also enjoy having access to my code from any location, and the remote backup feature gives me great peace of mind. I've looked over other developers' code on Github and contributed to their projects as a way to learn. All things considered, Github has become a crucial tool in my workflow, and I can't even imagine doing software development projects without it.

Minpunten

I've been using Github for a while, and while it has some great features, there are a few drawbacks as well that I've found annoying. First off, the price can be a little high, especially for private repositories or big teams. Larger projects may encounter difficulties due to the free plan's constrained storage. The navigation and interface can occasionally be a little bit perplexing to me. New users may find it overwhelming, and the customization options are few. Additionally, I've observed that some languages don't offer as strong support for code review and syntax highlighting tools. Github also doesn't seem to be designed for large enterprises, and it might not have the scalability options they require. Additionally, the fact that it is reliant on the service's uptime is somewhat of a drawback. Additionally, I discover that Github has a small number of integrations and that I am unable to locate the precise tools I require. Additionally, I don't have a lot of control over my privacy and data. Last but not least, I discover that it lacks integrated project management features, forcing me to rely on third-party tools. Although Github is a fantastic tool overall, some users may find its limitations to be infuriating.

Isak
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

A powerful platform for collaborative development

Beoordeeld op 1-2-2023

Github is a fantastic source code management tool for developers. Its user-friendly interface and...

Github is a fantastic source code management tool for developers. Its user-friendly interface and extensive features make it easy to manage and collaborate on projects with others. With a strong community of developers and integrations with other tools, it is a top choice for developers looking for a reliable and efficient solution for their source code management needs.

Pluspunten

Github has a large community of developers contributing to various open source projects. It has a fantastic user inteface that is easy to use and navigate. Github offers plenty of tools and resources available for collaboration, version control and CI/CD.

Minpunten

Some features may be overwhelming for beginner users.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket
Ara
Ara
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best VCS

Beoordeeld op 30-5-2023

GitHub's powerful version control system, built on Git, is one of its standout features. It allows...

GitHub's powerful version control system, built on Git, is one of its standout features. It allows developers to easily track changes, manage branches, and merge code with confidence. The ability to revert to previous versions or create separate branches for experimental work is invaluable, ensuring a safe and efficient development process. Will recommend it to all.

Pluspunten

GitHub provides an exceptional environment for collaboration among developers. Its intuitive interface allows for seamless communication, issue tracking, and pull request management. With features like code reviews, team discussions, and project boards, it fosters a collaborative spirit and enables developers to work together effectively.

Minpunten

While GitHub is a powerful platform, it can be overwhelming for newcomers, especially those unfamiliar with version control systems. The concepts of branches, pull requests, and forking may require a learning curve, which might discourage some beginners. More comprehensive documentation and guided tutorials could help mitigate this issue.