GitHub

4,8 (5.716)
Platform voor sociale codering en samenwerkende ontwikkeling

Totaalscore

4,8 /5
(5.716)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,6/5
Functies
4,7/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,4/5

98%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

5716 reviews

Avash
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Essential Tool for Every Developer

Beoordeeld op 4-6-2021

Github is absolutely essential for every developer like me. I have been using Github daily for more than 2 years and it is one of the most polished tools I have ever used. After we spend some time learning about it, Github can be very intuitive. It's small features like directly copying code from files just by dragging it to its interface, or that it renders CSV, STL explains how polished it is.

Pluspunten

Github is the most famous git services available online - I personally don't know any developers who don't use Github. This in turn makes Github essential to any developers as many people share codes and stuff through Github.

I don't know exactly why but developers nowadays seem to prefer to just put their work in Github. Thus GitHub hosts almost all kind of open source projects which I love to fork and play around with. I personally think it is very productive. It has a good and intuitive User Interface which makes viewing information and reading code easier.

I also feel Github is stable than other alternatives available.

Minpunten

I don't think there is much to dislike about Github but I think it isn't very easy to use for a beginner. I spent a long time learning about Git commands and stuff. Other than this, I can't think of any cons.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

I am not sure but I think Github is faster than Gitlab. Github is more popular among developers which made us use Github too.
Emil
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A User's Perspective: My experience with Github

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2023

Github is a great tool for software development projects that allows for easy tracking and management of code changes, collaboration with other developers, and open-source development. It also has a large and helpful community and can be used to showcase your work to potential employers. However, it can be expensive, has limited storage on the free plan and some issues with UI and navigation, limited support for certain languages, and limited scalability for large enterprises. Additionally, it has limited control over data and privacy and lack of built-in project management features.

Pluspunten

Github has significantly altered the way I approach software development projects; I've been using it for a while now. It has been incredibly simple to collaborate with other developers and keep track of my code thanks to the version control feature. The tools for code review and issue tracking are particularly helpful because they make it simple to keep track of any bugs or adjustments that need to be made. Github also has a lot going for it in terms of open-source development. Numerous open-source projects have allowed me to participate and utilize them, and the supportive and welcoming community is always there to help. Building my portfolio and showcasing my work to potential employers has also been a great benefit. The ability to integrate with my continuous integration and deployment services, for example, was made possible by Github's integrations with other tools. I can manage the permissions of my project contributors with ease thanks to the access control feature. I also enjoy having access to my code from any location, and the remote backup feature gives me great peace of mind. I've looked over other developers' code on Github and contributed to their projects as a way to learn. All things considered, Github has become a crucial tool in my workflow, and I can't even imagine doing software development projects without it.

Minpunten

I've been using Github for a while, and while it has some great features, there are a few drawbacks as well that I've found annoying. First off, the price can be a little high, especially for private repositories or big teams. Larger projects may encounter difficulties due to the free plan's constrained storage. The navigation and interface can occasionally be a little bit perplexing to me. New users may find it overwhelming, and the customization options are few. Additionally, I've observed that some languages don't offer as strong support for code review and syntax highlighting tools. Github also doesn't seem to be designed for large enterprises, and it might not have the scalability options they require. Additionally, the fact that it is reliant on the service's uptime is somewhat of a drawback. Additionally, I discover that Github has a small number of integrations and that I am unable to locate the precise tools I require. Additionally, I don't have a lot of control over my privacy and data. Last but not least, I discover that it lacks integrated project management features, forcing me to rely on third-party tools. Although Github is a fantastic tool overall, some users may find its limitations to be infuriating.

Emre
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

Recommended

Beoordeeld op 16-1-2023

Pluspunten

Easy to use and user friendly , smooth authentication process

Minpunten

There is room for improvement on workspaces and the content management. Groups seem to be so complex

Lankit
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

core pillar 💪 of whole developer community

Beoordeeld op 9-11-2022

I use GitHub every day on my all project to develop separate features in a single project simultaneously without them bottlenecking to each other.

Pluspunten

VCS and it's being free for all basic needs, from the smallest firms to IT behemoths, everyone uses GitHub.

Minpunten

the learning curve may seem steep if someone wants to do advance pull requests and forking.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

I wanted to try CI/CD with a simple React project but I found out it's basically private GitHub without all the experience that the OG has, so simply moved back to Github.

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is industry leader when it comes to handle Version Control System
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Programmaontwikkeling
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Unlock Your Development Potential with GitHub: A Comprehensive Tool for Managing Code and...

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2023

GitHub is generally considered to be a valuable tool for web developers. It offers a wide range of features, including a powerful version control system, collaboration tools, and integrations with other tools. Additionally, it is user-friendly, and it offers both free and paid plans, which makes it accessible to developers of all levels. Overall, it is a comprehensive tool that can help developers to manage their code, collaborate with others, and streamline their workflow.

Pluspunten

the features of GitHub that make it valuable for developers include its powerful version control system, the ability to collaborate with others, its user-friendly interface, and the wide range of integrations with other tools. Additionally, GitHub offers both free and paid plans, which makes it accessible to developers of all levels, from individuals to large organizations.

Minpunten

GitHub's task management feature may not have as many advanced project management features as other tools. However, it's worth noting that GitHub is widely used and well-regarded, and these limitations are generally outweighed by the many benefits that the platform offers.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

The well known GitHub

Beoordeeld op 18-1-2023

I have had a generally positive experience with GitHub. It's a powerful tool that allows me to easily collaborate and manage code projects.Overall, I feel organized and productive when using GitHub. However, I sometimes feel overwhelmed by the number of features and notifications, but I have learned how to manage this by customizing my notification settings.

Pluspunten

I find GitHub to be an incredibly useful tool for managing and collaborating on code projects. Its version control system allows for easy tracking of changes, and the ability to branch and merge code is a lifesaver when working with multiple people on the same project.

Minpunten

I have found that using GitHub can be frustrating at times due to its interface. It can be difficult to navigate and find the specific information I am looking for. Additionally, the platform can be slow to load or respond, causing delays in my workflow. Furthermore, some of the features such as merging pull requests can be confusing and hard to use.

Crispussia
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitHub review

Beoordeeld op 16-1-2023

Pluspunten

I like that Github is a great tool for collaboration and version control. It makes it easy for teams to work together on projects and to keep track of changes.

Minpunten

I least like that it can be difficult to navigate newer features.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Github Review

Beoordeeld op 15-1-2023

Pluspunten

Before I discovered Github, I was always struggling when creating my professional projects. I was manually saving several version of my projects after each modification. Also, it was not easy at all to collaborate with my colleagues at the university and especially when working on the same files. But Github has made my tasks much easier by helping me organizing my projects and easily navigate to an old version of my projects if needed.

Minpunten

At the beginning, it took me a little time to master Gihub, and to learn the git commands. But I have to admit that this platform is really solid, especially when considering the huge community behind it.

Fortune
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computer- en netwerkbeveiliging
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 6.0 /10

GitHub for you.

Beoordeeld op 18-1-2023

It allows me to create remote, public repositories on the cloud for free. This allows me as a student to work on new and old projects, because we don't delete our work.

Pluspunten

-I like that it easy to share code and work resources with my teaam.-It is an open source control software that allows me to store, track and interact with my team.-Collaboration is most enjoyed on GitHub by my team.

Minpunten

-I had difficulty with the repository at first.-Dirctions as to download my source code from the central storage location is still a bit confusing.

Jerome
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Consumentendiensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitHub

Beoordeeld op 14-1-2023

This is great software. Thank you for giving us opportunity to be more productive.

Pluspunten

This is amazing software. It helps me with other tasks I have and saves me time. The entire organization benefits from it. This helps us to work collaboratively and provide real-time data. This shows our running productivity and where we at.

Minpunten

This could have been helpful if we can access this platform on other devices like mobile phones even if it's offline.

Tsitsi Hazel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitHub Collaboration Review

Beoordeeld op 4-4-2022

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pluspunten

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review.

Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another.

Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world.

GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Minpunten

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Overwogen alternatieven

Slack

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.
Alex
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Beoordeeld op 25-8-2019

Pluspunten

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Minpunten

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.
Abdelmadjid
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

An essential tool for any developer

Beoordeeld op 27-2-2021

GitHub is probably one of the most polished platform in existence. I continually evaluate contenders but have yet to find one that offers as much value.

Pluspunten

GitHub makes managing Git repos a lot easier by providing a fantastic UI and a solid infrastructure. I also love the Package Registry service which fast, reliable, quick to set up and use, and has a fair pricing plan.

Minpunten

There is very little to dislike about GitHub. I'd like to see more work towards code monetization (for instance by creating a unified platform that takes care of licensing and payments)

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

We made the switch when GitHub offered free private Git repositories, in a time when Bitbucket did not.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Private Git repositories and the package registry service (which allows private packages). GitHub has also become the industry standard and its APIs are integrated to more platforms.
Dilanka
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

A universal level source code management system

Beoordeeld op 6-12-2019

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pluspunten

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Minpunten

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Jason
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Grafisch ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

As a designer who codes...

Beoordeeld op 22-9-2020

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pluspunten

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Minpunten

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Omar Eduardo
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 5.001-10.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Great for teaching coding classes!

Beoordeeld op 15-5-2021

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pluspunten

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes.

To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off.

If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features.

For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Minpunten

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems.

For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Overwogen alternatieven

Dropbox Business en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.
Jose
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The easier source control app

Beoordeeld op 7-10-2021

The projects that we manage on my organization are confidential, so we have payed for the Github Businness plan and we control who is entering to the repositories and what are they doing. Also, we allow the access with specific IP's so that's is a really cool feature.

Pluspunten

First, it has a desktop application, so it's easier to pull, push and track changes. It's free for private repositories and organizations (even if yours it's not an open source one). You have A LOT of integrations, like Slack, Jira, Jenkins, etc. Also, you can create your own integration if you need it.

Minpunten

I think the only thing is missing on Github is group repositories in folders. You can do something like that (using the teams feature) but at the end the repositories are not grouped.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Bitbucket is too expensive. In the other hand, if you are going to pay for any GitLab plan I think is better buy it on GitHub becase it has more features.

Overgestapt van

GitLab en Bitbucket
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 1.001-5.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Github for personal and enterprise use

Beoordeeld op 2-5-2019

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pluspunten

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely.
I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Minpunten

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.
Ranu
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The ultimate source code manager.

Beoordeeld op 24-9-2022

I am using this tool from 7 years and I have never found any issues with it. I have used it from version controlling to setup my own CI/CDs for various products on multiple cloud service providers and I really like their UI.

Pluspunten

First of all it got very simple, easy to understand and user friendly user interface tool that can be user by anyone within hours of it deployment. Most of the functions can be accessed with both command line and through dashboard too. Also CI/CD is one of the best feature that it provides and reduces manual efforts of code deployments. It provide supports for almost all languages and even it raises mail for some security vulnerabilities found by it. Best part you can have both public and private repos.

Minpunten

There is no any such issues I have found. Just few features are there for which you need to pay.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

The UI was bit complicated to understand for team.

Overgestapt van

GitLab

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It is very user friendly tool and there are lot of open source features provided by it.
Charles Boampong
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best project management tool for software developers.

Beoordeeld op 26-2-2022

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pluspunten

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer.
The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Minpunten

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Hoger onderwijs
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

Beoordeeld op 28-1-2022

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Pluspunten

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps.
The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison.
Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history.
GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch.
My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Minpunten

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality.

If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

Gabriel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Verzekeringen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Beoordeeld op 23-9-2020

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great.
You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pluspunten

Code review is simply AWESOME.
- The editor works perfectly
- You can suggest changes
- You can co-author pull requests
- You have the codeowners option
- The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved
- It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!!
Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Minpunten

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive
- There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business
- You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward
- No default reviewers for repositories :(
- Some minor UIs issues

Overwogen alternatieven

GitLab en Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitHub te kiezen

Ease of use and pricing :)

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitHub

Pricing and ease of use
Naseeb
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

Beoordeeld op 2-10-2020

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Pluspunten

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Minpunten

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

Pawan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best web version control

Beoordeeld op 1-3-2021

Overall my experience of using GitHub as a Software Engineer is pretty good. I have been using it to share my personal projects and also to work on group projects. Its also have been a great place to showcase my personal works and contribute to open source projects.

Pluspunten

I have been using this great platform for 4 years and I am in love with it. I started using it in my bachelor's for hosting my projects and also collaboration with my colleagues on a group project. It's very useful to host code and share it with developers around the world and get feedback and help on the issues with the code. Also, it's a great place to find out many open source projects where you can contribute to and also use them on your personal or company projects. Also, it's great when it comes to working in a group, assigning tasks, creating issues, monitoring work progress, etc are great features. I also love the webhook feature to make automatic changes to the production/development environment so we get the latest code changes deployed. Also, creating, merging branches, etc can be done on the web. It's a great place to share your work and get feedback, contributions, and discussion on topics to make the code clean and more useful. Also, it has tons of tools in the marketplace which can be used for continuous integration, deployment, code review, etc to make the work easier. I love to star the projects so that I can view them later and I use it as a bookmarking feature. Also, forking is great to copy a repository with making changes on my own for my desired needs.

Minpunten

One issue that I am facing is the GUI bug where I search my one of my repository and open it and when I press the back button on the browser and when I try to search my another repository I am redirected automatically to my list of repositories instead of letting my search finish. Another con maybe it may be hard to use when starting using GitHub for the first time. Also, it doesn't let to perform the merge with the conflicting commits on its GUI and I have to use the command line commands.

Khalid
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Schoolleiding
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

BEST code development means GitHub

Beoordeeld op 5-10-2022

My overall experience with app/software/SAAS can be summed in the follwing points:

A. The given app/software/SAAS has been solving the following business problems :
- automated deployment pipeline
- when in need of repository while working on open source projects
- deploying of programs within cloud platforms like AWS
- aids everybody in building great softwares
- helps in understanding the overall product requirements
B. i have been able to realize the following benefits with the help of the given app/software/SAAS :
-putting up of an open-source repository
- learn from other open-source projects
- helpful when multiple users working upon one single code

Pluspunten

i found the following features as most impactful:
- version controlling
- dependabot for vulnerability scanning
- integrates well with third-party based app
- ability to go back to previous versions if present code shows error
- high repository privacy
Yes the product is quite easy to use for:
- hassle free source code hosting
- Container Registry quite helpful
- open-source community involvement fostering
- user interface is really smooth easy and Excellent
- open-source applications/code of all available to tweak
Yes i was successfully able to implement the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes quite smoothly and easily as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides..

Minpunten

I found the following features that were either missing or could be improved:
- merger-conflicts through github could be improved
- pull request codeview could be improved
- no options for delete update and issues create for teams and users
- Like many other IDEs, the code editing environment features lacks in additional functionalities.

I found the following features or aspects of the product that are difficult to use:
- folder deletion
- absence of rich CI/CD
-one is  unable to install, download, as well as set up one's own GitHub server.
- permanent removal of unwanted files
- misleading repository contributions count
No, the integration of the app/software/SAAS with my existing business processes not so much difficult as i could set it up with a little self-help, effort, and online training guides.