LibreOffice

4,3 (1.448)
Software suite for creating, editing, and managing documents

Totaalscore

4,3 /5
(1.448)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,7/5
Functies
4,2/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,2/5
Klantenondersteuning
3,9/5

87%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

1448 reviews

Shawn
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Vastgoed
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

LibreOffice an AMAZING replacement option for expensive Microsoft office tools

Beoordeeld op 4-8-2022

We are very pleased using LibreOffice. After the initial "getting used to where things are" phase, we are able to seamlessly share and edit MS and ODF formated documents.

Pluspunten

After a year of use, I have not found anything that Microsoft does that can't also be done in LibreOffice.

Minpunten

You do have to get used to where all the functionally buttons are located. It's not really bad, just different.

Overwogen alternatieven

Apache OpenOffice

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

Price

Overgestapt van

Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

Product development is not controlled by a corporate entity.
Darren
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Overheidsadministratie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

LibreOffice just keeps getting better!

Beoordeeld op 24-8-2022

I used LibreOffice for compatibility with government systems. It worked very well, and I have grown to prefer its user interface to MS Office. Using LO Writer, I created high-quality documents and signage, and it works better for image placement on the page than MS Word.

Pluspunten

LibreOffice is like a free, community-based MS Office, but slightly easier to use. And free.

Minpunten

It's still a bit rough around the edges, and compatibility with the (unfortunately proprietary) MS Office industry standard documents is not perfect.

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

Free software without restrictive licensing, compatibility, cost.

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

It's free, and an open standard that works on every machine with reliable quality.
David
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Geestelijke gezondheidszorg
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 1.0 /10

Excellent product with 1 or 2 killer bugs

Beoordeeld op 30-7-2022

Since we try to avoid paying excessive software rental fees (i.e. Microsoft Office), LibreOffice has been a lifesaver. It can open documents that we have not been able to open with our outdated 2003 version of Microsoft office. But we simply can not use it for critical documents or documents we put a lot of work into formatting. By mistake, one or more heavy black horizontal lines will appear in the document, and then they can not be removed. They can be made to jump around, to a point, but they can not be removed. Also the spacing may suddenly change to double spacing, and it is impossible to change it back to single spacing. So we simply can not use this product for critical or time-consuming documents, as marvelous as the program is otherwise.

Pluspunten

This product could fully replace Microsoft Office, if only a few bugs were removed.

Minpunten

The program installs black horizontal lines in documents that can not be deleted. It also shifts to double spacing and can not be turned back to single spacing.

Rosa María
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Entertainment
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

aplicaciones accesibles para [email protected] de forma libre y gratuitas.

Beoordeeld op 15-9-2022

muy buena.

Pluspunten

pues que puedes realizar todo tipo de documentos, añadir imágenes, tablas, cálculos, darle la forma que quieres y convertirla en pdf para compartirla.

Minpunten

Pues pienso que siempre se puede mejorar entre todos.

Ailton
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computerhardware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

I am a LibreOffice user because I need calculation tools and it also allows me to enter text.

Beoordeeld op 7-8-2022

Pluspunten

What I liked best was that it is free software and has a lot to do with application features that are currently only available in the paid application.

Minpunten

What I didn't like the software in principle and the function tool that allows you to immediately enter only 5 functions.

Parth
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Open a world of file management using Libreoffice

Beoordeeld op 24-8-2022

1. Use this software in Ubuntu Linux operating system .
2. Suits us best as it can handly daily tasks easily.

Pluspunten

1. Its free to use software and comes in linux based os
2. Best alternative to microsoft office .
3. Easy to use interface .
4. It is fully functional office application which allow user to manage excel sheet , power points sheets and much more.
5. There is no need of internet connection to use this software.

Minpunten

1. Still use old version of UI due to which application dont look attractive like that of MS office suite.
2. User can not be able to synchronise the work on internet as cloud computing feature is not there.
3. Error while printing word document as it changes the font size when shift from one device to other.

Michael
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Nutsbedrijven
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks Gratis proef lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

A novice perspective

Beoordeeld op 26-8-2022

Very good

Pluspunten

Its ability to open Microsoft Office files

Minpunten

Adjusting margins and paper orientation was difficult to find and the help file wasn't quite correct. It should specify :
To set margins and,or paper orientation go to:
Format, page style, page ..........................not format, page

Sergio
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Basis- en voortgezet onderwijs
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Alternativa muy completa

Beoordeeld op 14-9-2022

Pluspunten

Es una muy buena alternativa a otras suites de edición de texto como la de microsoft o apple

Minpunten

No he encontrado muchas fallas, lo administra todo bastante bien y es muy completa

Jean Baptiste
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Alternative gratuite à MS Office

Beoordeeld op 15-9-2022

Pluspunten

Libre office est un logiciel open source remplaçant MS Office qui est payant.

Minpunten

Quelques fonctionnalités sont différentes de MS Office et la compatibilité n'est pas toujours parfaite

Ramzana
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Schoolleiding
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

libre office is good software for all users

Beoordeeld op 26-7-2022

overall libre is good for all office users.

Pluspunten

mostly like is libre in documents convert features.

Minpunten

we like pdf file sharing and editing in libre

Marco
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

David contra Goliat

Beoordeeld op 12-4-2022

Es una excelente suite ofimatica para utilizarla de manera personal o en la empresa tiene pequeños puntos en contra en cuanto a compatibilidad con la competencia, su interfaz es muy bien lograda con el uso te vas acostumbrando ya que tiene todo lo necesario para realizar las tareas.

Pluspunten

Uso y he ayudado a implementar en colegios y escuelas LIbreOffice ya que es una suite ofimatica que no tiene nada que pedir a su rival Office, es 100% gratis y su facilidad de uso tanto en la escuela o empresa ayuda mucho en las tareas cotidianas ademas es una muy buena opcion ya que es multiplataforma.

Minpunten

Falta pulir la compatibilidad con las hojas de calculo de Excel, se debe configurar para que se guarde en formato reconocible para la competencia.

Overwogen alternatieven

Apache OpenOffice en WordPerfect Office

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

El precio.

Overgestapt van

WordPerfect Office
Carlos Hugo Martin
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Experience with LibreOffice

Beoordeeld op 26-1-2022

We have used it for the generation of reports, comparative graphs, evolution graphs, business presentations.

Pluspunten

The most important feature is that the consumption of resources is lower than that of other software such as MS Office. Many of its functions are different from those of MS Office, but the result is the same and sometimes better. It allowed us to save on the licenses necessary to work.

Minpunten

The documentation and help that it has is not very detailed or is not well explained, having to resort to an internet search engine to find out how to do an action that was previously done in MS Office.

Overwogen alternatieven

Microsoft 365

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

Because of the cost of the licenses and the similarity in the functionalities it offers.

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

For the price of the licenses, plus it doesn't have many features that LibreOffice does have.
Alessandro
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Machine- en installatiebouw
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Free, open source, versatile and super compatible Suite

Beoordeeld op 19-11-2021

I'm a student and use Writer and Calc on a daily basis and Impress and Base when needed be. They are easy to use, free and compatible with many OS and programs (you can also open .doc documents from Word of the Office suite, for instance).

Pluspunten

As mentioned in the title, this software is free, is open source and can ran on every O.S. (be it one of the countless Linux's distributions, Windows or Mac OS).
One thing to notice is that this is a complete Suite, not a single software. In fact to my knowledge 6 software are included:

- LibreOffice Calc (spreadsheet): it's your daily spreadsheet companion and I think it's actually neater than his cousin from the Office suite... I mean its design is a bit simpler but I like some little things, like having the default shortcut for "save as" as a simple ctrl+shift+S. I mean, everything is about where I would expect it to be.
- LibreOffice Writer (for formatted text documents): it's got everything you need for well formatted text documents with images. Set you own style, choose everything bout your text, from font and color up to the detailed hyphenation parameters, write what you need then export your file in pdf if needed be.
- LibreOffice Impress (for presentations with slides)
- LibreOffice Base (for databases): I don't have that much to say about this module as I haven't used it a lot but from my experience it seems to have all the basic functionalities and is intuitive enough
- LibreOffice Math: it's basically a math support useful for writing formulas, and can be used as an integration for the Writer module. Useful if you don't use any LateX or LateX-based software.
- LibreOffice Draw (for simple computer graphics): can't say much since I don't think I have ever used it

Minpunten

- About LibreOffice Math: I've hardly ever used though since I find LateX based software a lot more useful and intuitive in case I need to write many formulas and integrate them with the rest of the document... I might reevaluate this module in the future but for the moment.
- About LibreOffice Writer: if your document is too long and has many images, the programs gets a little slow, especially when saving (it gets up to 10 seconds for documents of about 50 pages and a good number of figures), so when I use it to write my classes' notes I usually fragmentate them in more than one document. Overall you can create very nice documents but if they are too big and you have a little bit of time I would suggest to use a LateX based program (as mentioned above).
- About LibreOffice Calc: I have noticed that if you make many copies of a sheet with graphs and apply some changes, sometimes it doesn't update everithing right away... it looks like, as for writer, very large documents are not (yet, who knows about future versions) advisable.

Clément
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Un parfait complément au logiciel Microsoft Word

Beoordeeld op 17-11-2021

Je tenais à faire ce petit retour d'expérience afin d'éclairer les autres utilisateurs. Comme beaucoup d'autres personnes, j'étais convaincu que Word était le seul logiciel de traitement de texte valable et efficace. Que nenni, Libre-Office a su me montrer au fil des années qu'il faisait tout aussi bien voire mieux que Word sur certains points, notamment au niveau de la fluidité de traitement et l'intuitivité du correcteur d'orthographe, pour lesquels Word me semble moins performant que Libre-Office en dépit de la gratuité de Libre-Office. Je dirai tout simplement que Libre-Office est idéal pour des utilisateurs occassionnels d'outils de traitement de texte, nul besoin de passer nécessairement par Word.

Pluspunten

Libre Office est un logiciel certes classique dans son interface, mais redoutablement efficace au niveau de ses fonctionnalités. Libre Office est un logiciel qui, incontestablement, joint la sobriété à l'efficacité. Le traitement de texte s'avère d'une grande intuitivité et le correcteur orthographique est parfaitement adapté. J'ai bien apprécié les fonctionnalités de correction de Libre Office car je suis amené dans le cadre de mes missions à rédiger des écrits. Et je cherchais à cet égard un logiciel dont le correcteur orthographique n'était pas trop envahissant. Et je l'ai trouvé avec Libre Office, qui corrige notre texte seulement en cas de fautes évidentes ou de fautes de frappe, contrairement au correcteur orthographique de Word qui n'a de cesse de souligner en rouge notre texte alors même qu'on a commis aucune faute. Autre aspect particulièrement positif que j'ai pu relever chez Libre-Office : sa grande rapidité de traitement. J'ai été particulièrement surpris, dans le bon sens du terme, par la fluidité de Libre Office lorsque j'ouvrais des fichiers Office sur mon ordinateur. Libre Office présente également l'atout majeur d'être compatible de manière universelle, quelles que soient les versions Windows de nos ordinateurs.

Minpunten

Il ne fait aucun doute que Libre-Office est moins perfectionné que Word. Libre-Office reste un peu léger pour certaines fonctionnalités comme l'élaboration de tableaux, qui est moins poussée que dans Word. Le choix de tableaux est trop restreint. D'autre part, je trouve que Libre-Office s'avère insuffisant dans sa compatibilité avec les autres logiciels. Il reste encore difficile à l'heure actuelle d'ouvrir des documents Word dans Libre-Office sans que le document ne soit complètement désorganisé.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Medische praktijk
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Fast and Flexible Office Suite

Beoordeeld op 4-8-2021

I usualy works with sensitive data like patient’s healt data, so i trust this open source easy to use office suite.

I work with Zotero Referance Manager, JASP Statistical Software and this applications works well with Libreoffice.

Pluspunten

Libreoffice is very fast, it opens documents very fast like a small picture. This helped me because i sometimes works with up to 20 documents same time in a project.

The GUI looks a bit old fashion but it is very flexible. And there is a lot of toolbar alternative. Tabbed toolbar is similar to Microsoft Office. But i use single toolbar mode with some customization. I generally use my desktop with two tiled windows. So i can reach most used buttons in tiled window mode. And i can save this customized toolbar and i can change in different projects or needs.

Documentation is good and i easily learn a new function.

And use this office suite as a data entry application for JASP statistical program. Adjustable autosave interval and recovery function can recover my efforts.

Export as PDF and Epub is a good funtion. I can save my documents with one click in this formats. And there is a advanced mode. This mode have a lot of properties like PDF/A compatibility for achive, accesibility and more.

Finally i use this office suite for advanced tasks for example mail merge, export slide as video or pictures easily, edit PDFs, making Posters and a lot.

In conclusion this office suite have standard functions and additionally have advanced functions thats makes hard works easy.

Minpunten

Most important pitfall for me, ooxml format compatibility problems. With Libreoffice 7, this problems decrease a lot. But there are some problems thats still persist.

Least liked part of this suite is presentation module. This module developed a lot in years but i can’t use this module easily as the other modules. Writer and Calculator module is much better.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Overheidsadministratie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Greatest document management solution for Linux users

Beoordeeld op 15-7-2021

In the last months i have been testing different Linux distributions, leaving Windows i had no longer their Office package and i needed a new software for Document management. Once i installed Kubuntu i found LibreOffice extremely helpful, trustworthy and intuitive.

Pluspunten

I'm very satisfied with its variety of options, inside this software everyone can access databases management with LibreOffice Base, presentation creation and edition with LibreOffice Impress, general text document creation with LibreOffice Writer and even calculation and information analysis with LibreOffice Calc. It automatically saves the progress made every several minutes preventing progress loss, what's more, it has a feature for data recovery that allows to continue any assignment or document as it was left before any accidental occurrence happened.
Their format compatibility provides helpful overall usage and saves time as file conversion is no longer needed. You can export text documents as pdfs or odt formats which tend to be more common among MacOS and Linux users.
As a work environment their user interface is very customizable, making it highly flexible for reading oriented tasks as well as document producing ones.

Minpunten

One relevant downside is the fact that it lacks mobile app deployment, what may result tedious if the personal mobile phone is closely related with work activities. Nonetheless, for Desktop-centered activities it proves to be highly reliable and efficient.

Aaron
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Religieuze instellingen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Good if not Better than other office products

Beoordeeld op 27-5-2021

I use this product to prepare my weekly lessons and lectures at our church. I use it for writing welcome letter to visitors and a variety of other things for my ministry.

Pluspunten

I like not having to pay for a monthly subscription to use a software I use every day. This software allows me to use files from other word processors and office suites without having to worry if I will be able to open them or not. I don't understand why the bigger companies have gotten so greedy with these monthly cloud services when little guys like Libre can offer the same capabilities at a fraction of the cost.

Minpunten

The only gripe I have of the software is:
1) I don't like how the track changes is automatically applied to documents that were from other platforms
2) It may have it, but I have yet to find a label maker on the software.

Overwogen alternatieven

Apache OpenOffice

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

Tired of lining Microsofts pockets with a monthly subscription.

Overgestapt van

Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

It was on a computer I purchased and I liked it better than any other alternative product.
Eero
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Consumentenelektronica
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Great office toolset for those who want to avoid the market leader

Beoordeeld op 26-5-2021

I used LibreOffice for all basic "office" work, mainly writing documents and creating spreadsheets. I really like the fact that is so fast and light to use, compared to for example the newest versions of MS Office, which to me seems like getting bulkier every year. I only need the basic features, so I didn't dive really deep into the features. But I am sure that an average user can get very far with LibreOffice.

Pluspunten

The software offers everything that I expect from an "office" type of software combination. It is lightweight, and that is great especially if running on a machine with an older processor or not much memory. Also, there is a certain feeling of "older" MS Office versions, so if you are looking for something like that, this software is a good choice.

Minpunten

I guess the user interface could be a bit more modern, some like it, some don't. I don't mind. I don't really have any issues or dislikes regarding this software, even though you can't even expect perfection for this price. Overall, great product.

Overwogen alternatieven

Apache OpenOffice en SoftMaker Office

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

MS Office (or 365) felt very bulky and unnecessary slow, plus there were many things in the interface I didn't like. Too many features that were unnecessary, just cluttering the views. And the whole MS 365 ecosystem is unnecessarily complex. I prefer the old way - buy software, install it, use it. No constant logging in, half of the stuff in the cloud, etc.

Overgestapt van

Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

I used Apache OpenOffice for years, but then there were some glitches that forced me to move away from it and I used LibreOffice. However, recently I have used more and more SoftMaker's Office that is also installed on my laptop. It is a quality program too.
Ray
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Research
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best alternative to MS Word

Beoordeeld op 30-3-2021

Outstanding. I use LibreOffice every day to review, edit, and translate documents in English and Chinese. The software handles multiple languages well.

Pluspunten

I have used LibreOffice since 2010, when it forked from OpenOffice which I began using in 2003. From the beginning it has offered a viable alternative to MS Office.

- Easy to use
- Intuitive old-school menus, but offers an optional ribbon toolbar
- Excellent track-changes features
- Good document layout tools
- Open standards

Minpunten

It has trouble handling long documents. When I edit dissertations of 100 or more pages, LibreOffice can become sluggish and responds poorly. However, been less of a problem in recent versions (ie current version 7) but has not been completely resolved.

When adding Comment to a document, if the text in the Comment is too long, it cannot be seen without scrolling inside the Comment bubble. This makes makes it difficult for the user to scan a document and read all of the Comments without constantly using a mouse to scroll through Comment text.
To resolve this, LibreOffice needs to add a Comment Bar on the side where all comments can be see in full text. MS Office includes this feature.

To avoid problems when editing very long documents, I tend to stick with MS Word, despite finding it more awkward and inefficient.

Radek
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The new go-to Office suite!

Beoordeeld op 28-2-2021

LibreOffice is a perfect alternative for other Office suites. It's opensource, it handles multiplatform collaboration very well, and it's a breeze to switch from any other office suite.

Pluspunten

LibreOffice is unbelievably easy to hop in for a newcomer - no matter what you've been using previously. Because most of us, its users, are probably "switchers", either from MS Office or OpenOffice, LibreOffice not only makes up for the software we've been using before - it also does a lot more, and does it in very intuitive, effective manner.

Minpunten

I hate the fact that I've hesitated so long to actually try LibreOffice. But after installing it and giving it a chance to shine - it was love from the first sight.

Overwogen alternatieven

Microsoft 365

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

We've felt that OpenOffice was abandoned. Also, it did not handle MS Office document import very well.

Overgestapt van

Apache OpenOffice
YoYo
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Open Source version of Microsoft Word

Beoordeeld op 14-2-2021

It's Microsoft Office with it's older user interface that we are all used to. And it's free. There is no need to pay hundreds for Microsoft Office when LibreOffice does the same thing but free.

Pluspunten

It's basically the free, open-source version of Microsoft Word. I have been using it for over a decade now (back when it was called Open Office), before Google Docs even came out. If you need to open a Word document that Google Docs can't open but you don't have Word, LibreOffice is great for that.

Minpunten

It doesn't open word doc format perfectly all the time. There are still some marginal differences some times. Which is okay, it is not expected to. But it can be great if that could be done.

Overwogen alternatieven

Google Docs en Microsoft 365

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

Enterprise software at enterprise rate is a little too expensive when there are better free options avaliable.

Overgestapt van

Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

We still use Google Docs for the collaboration and most of our documents are stored on Docs. But sometimes you need something to be done in Word, and that's when we use LibreOffice.
Dorothy
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Religieuze instellingen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Excellent Quality, Price Right

Beoordeeld op 3-11-2020

We are a small women's monastery and don't have a big budget, so we look for inexpensive but dependable ways to keep costs low. LibreOffice certainly does this. I would recommend it both to individuals and organizations.

Pluspunten

LibreOffice is similar to MS Office, enough so that moving from MS to Libre is seamless. Impress (Powerpoint equivalent) works well for slide presentations--and I also use it for desktop publishing. The only function it lacks for that use is text flow from column to column, which I always found troublesome anyway. I've been doing newsletters in Impress for many years and recommend it. I also like Libre because from the beginning it could read .doc and .docx, whereas MS Word has only been able to read open document formats like .odt since 2010. So collaboration with those who use MS products has always been possible, because Libre has always had the ability to save in MS formats. Back when PDF editors were not common, I used first OpenOffice Draw, then LibreOffice Draw to edit PDFs. I find Calc, the spreadsheet part of Libre, good to work with except for one function which I mention below. LibreOffice is open-source software, meaning that anyone who has the skills can contribute to its development. And although The Document Foundation, which manages the development of LibreOffice, always appreciates donations, the software itself is free of charge.

Minpunten

There is one function which may not be missing in Calc, but which for me is more difficult to use than the same function in MS Excel. That is searching for and deleting duplicates, for example in a mailing list. I wouldn't say it's intuitive in either software, but easier for me to figure out in Excel. The only other thing I can say that can, but doesn't always, make for difficulties, is if you are collaborating with a group using mixed operating systems, e.g. Linux and Windows. The versions of LibreOffice for each of these OSes are just slightly different, as one might expect. A certain amount of alertness is necessary when one OS sends a document to another--occasionally formatting can change when opened in Libre on a different OS. But we have not found that to be a big problem although we have used a mix of Linux and Windows for many years.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Tekstschrijvers
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

A solid MS Word alternative

Beoordeeld op 29-9-2020

Very fast up time, small footprint, efficient and effective with a familiar interface. I use it for first drafts of my books. I use it alongside MS Office (which has no problem dealing with the files) knowing that if I should ever be unable to maintain my MS licence, all is not lost. Definitely recommended for those who need some serious power without a serious price tag.

Pluspunten

For many people, MS Office is bloated, expensive and a resource hog. While Libre Office doesn't sport all the powerful features of MS Office, as a practical, no-nonsense office suite it can do just about anything you want except the very fancy stuff which, to be fair, few of us use!). For those on low incomes or even those more used to older versions of Office, this is a very efficient alternative with a familiar front end and a much smaller footprint, making it ideal for laptop computers with minimal hard-drive space. It's kept up to date, there are forums where any issues can be highlighted and it does what it says on the tin. If you're looking for an alternative to MS Office that's free and will do the job in most cases, this is the one you want.

Minpunten

There are features in MS Office full version you won't find here, but as most of us are used to using a Word Processor with occasional forays into spreadsheets, the bulk of users won't miss them. There are, of course, other open source alternatives to those programmes too. The point is, if all you're looking for is the basics, this'll do it and it has the overwhelming advantage of being free (though you can donate if you care to). If you want more, you may have to download others that aren't fully integrated, which is rather more fiddly but is doable.

Rodrigo
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Everything you can ask for from a free office

Beoordeeld op 19-5-2020

I use LibreOffice almost daily mainly for reading and file conversion tasks, also because many companies and governments have used the OpenDocument format, which is much better worked on Libre. The improved support for CSV is really fundamental for my work, especially when I exchange data between programs and I need to make adjustments. I just don't use Libre completely, because standard Microsoft files like DOCX and XLSX open better and look better in MS Office - LibreOffice often messes up these types of files.

Pluspunten

I love the fact that it maintains the purity of the traditional office layout, while in other programs everyone switches to the ribbon tabs (I particularly hate the ribbon). I really like Libre Office Calc's CSV support too, which lets you deal with different row / column separators. Command line automation options are also great for solving document conversion and repetitive tasks with scripts, even when calling by other programs.

Minpunten

There is nothing I dislike about LibreOffice, for the purpose for which it is intended. Perhaps the fact that standard Microsoft files, such as doc / docx and xls / xlsx, do not always open correctly, as it is relatively common in more elaborate files, that LibreOffice makes a mess. But that usually doesn't affect me and I alternate between the two programs.

Overwogen alternatieven

Apache OpenOffice

Redenen om voor LibreOffice te kiezen

It was not quite an exchange. In fact, MS Excel's CSV support is terrible, as well as OpenDocument support is also terrible, and as I use it a lot, I ended up having to use LibreOffice for these tasks and MS Office for others where it works best. The ideal would be to do everything with a single program, but in computing this would be an illusion.

Overgestapt van

Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

Abiword seemed very simple and very expensive (at the time, it would was paid), and at the time also had poor support for my language. With the end of OpenOffice I tried to find alternatives, and the first attempt was with Apache OpenOffice, but in the tests it seemed to me an outdated copy of the original OpenOffice, with little or no improvement. LibreOffice stood out to me for having a foundation focused only on its purpose, and it has really been getting more and more things, getting better and showing itself to be a living project.
Ron
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Excellent for small businesses!

Beoordeeld op 31-3-2020

Overall, LibreOffice was a very nice and useful tool to have in the office, before transitioning to GSuite. The features in LibreOffice are more powerful than GSuite, generally speaking, and there are far more use cases. However, the likelihood of incompatibility or data corruption when transitioning between LibreOffice to other similar software is a little bit higher, even if it can be negligible. That said, it is still a fantastic choice of software, and it's up to you to determine whether or not the pros balance out or exceed the cons. I believe it's worth a shot!

Pluspunten

The software mimics Microsoft Office quite a bit, so the learning curve is very small. Being that the software is free and open source, it's an excellent ethical addition to the workplace especially during a time where pirated software can be frequently found in the small business world.

Minpunten

Compatibility between MS Office and GSuite can be dicey sometimes. Most use cases are fine and not worth worrying, but if you do a lot of work with importing and exporting data and need a consistent way to edit/parse it, LibreOffice may not be your best initial choice for the workplace. LibreOffice can also be slow depending on your computer; a lot of the stuff that is trivially quick to do in a program such as Excel can be a little bit of a crunch with LibreOffice's equivalent.

Overwogen alternatieven

Google Workspace en Microsoft 365

Redenen om over te stappen op LibreOffice

LibreOffice was the best way, at the time, to ensure that our office was not pirating software (due to unethical practices by a previous manager). It worked out as an office-wide tool for years, until GSuite's options expanded and became more refined, at which point it became beneficial to switch. However, I still firmly believe that even despite LibreOffice's flaws, it still makes for a magnificent alternative to paid or cloud-oriented products.