GitLab

4,6 (1.101)
Schrijf een review!
Volledig DevOps levenscyclusbeheer

Totaalscore

4,6 /5
(1.101)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,5/5
Functies
4,6/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,4/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,2/5

96%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

1101 reviews

Mat
Mat
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Gitlab is the best

Beoordeeld op 17-6-2022

I absolutely love this product, and it is my favorite

I absolutely love this product, and it is my favorite

Pluspunten

I would choose this over any other product because the ci-cd is amazingly easy to use and customizable. The self-hosted capabilities and easy of use of this product makes it number one!

Minpunten

Bugs and support sometimes take a bit to get taken care of, but the bugs are few!

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Because of its ci-cd. I can have it self hosted and set up hardware on the same network easily and completely test my deployment before actually deploying my code. It's the best!
Lilantha
Lilantha
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitLab Review

Beoordeeld op 26-9-2019

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our...

GitLab resolved our version controlling problems, code review problems. It helps to maintain our code standards very easily. We can setup It on our local server also very easily. It is free anyone can try it.

Pluspunten

GitLab is a superb source code managemanet provide. It is free. We can install it in our privet server also. As well as we can use their server with a free account. We use git for version control. GitLab provides awesome support for version control. It is a very easy tool. Anyone can use it very easily If someone has no more knowledge about versioning but He can use GitLab very easy. We can maintain our Repositories/Branchers. User access level also there. Currently, We use GitLab. We maintain feature branches, dev branch, and master branch. Everyone does not allow to merge code to the dev branch. If someone add merge request to the dev branch, our one-person review code and merge. Then we use GitLab it is easy for us. GitLab provides superb dashboard it very easy to review code. It shows all code changes with file by file. Easy to compare. As well as we can compare two branches vary easy. It provides a clear, unique, user-friendly dashboard. GitLab also supports CI/CD process. It's superb we can recommend for anyone. If our commit has some conflict it shows how to resolve that step by step.

Minpunten

When I add a new commit. If the file is large/have many lines. It not showing code changes directly. It shows a message file has many lines cannot show changes that kind of message. Sometimes when we compare two commits. It not more clear. Some times confusing. If I show some file history only show commits. not showing code changes by commits. We want to go and check every commits to show changes.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It's free. We can setup on our local servers. It provides an easy, powerful, clear, and userfriendly dashboard. Its same thing wants for version control. Its there on GitLab.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Source control is made easy with gitlab

Beoordeeld op 22-10-2019

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at...

We need to control our source code. We need to know exactly who has changed what line of code at what point. And git, nice though it is, needs a GUI. Gitlab provides us that GUI.

Pluspunten

The software is stable.
Updates come out regularly.
SSO integration with our AD is very nice.

Minpunten

We are using gitlab not only for our source code, but also to control the configuration of all of our servers and firewalls. It would be nice if we could schedule scripts on gitlab to run automatically. We are now 'abusing' the pipelines for this purpose.

Manish Bhandari
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Review of Gitlab for developers from a developer

Beoordeeld op 1-4-2024

I experienced streamlined collaboration, seamless version control, and efficient code review...

I experienced streamlined collaboration, seamless version control, and efficient code review processes. With built-in CI/CD pipelines, it helps in automated testing and deployment, enhancing productivity and ensuring high-quality releases. GitLab's user-friendly interface and extensive documentation facilitate smooth onboarding and continuous improvement. Overall, GitLab empowers developers to focus on innovation and delivery, driving success in software development projects.

Pluspunten

Integrated CI/CD, Collaboration Features, Comprehensive Platform

Minpunten

GitLab can be resource-intensive, particularly for self-hosted instances and GitLab's extensive feature set and customization options can result in a steep learning curve for new users

Jörg
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Civiele techniek
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

A powerful foundation for any software development need, which is trivially self hosted

Beoordeeld op 28-8-2023

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an...

Despite my gripes with debugging and monitoring, GitLab is a mind blowing software offer with an unbelievable feature set for a platform that is effectively free for many setups, not forcing a subscription or pro features by crippling its basic product but by providing additional value for paying customers instead of extorting users for critical features.

Pluspunten

The pipeline system is by far GitLabs most important feature, though the extensive offering of supporting services such as project wikis, hooks and integrations make it a flexible control center for all needs of software development.

Minpunten

Debugging pipelines seems to be less than an after though, with minimal support and no indication of being in anyone's focus. Monitoring seems like a lackluster proof of concept released to the public, with many issues being ignored for years and all around extremely poor support unless the only thing you want to do is monitor the default setup for the default metrics in the default view.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Travis CI

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Stagnating movement, fragmented development, lack of project oversight/direction, and the wish to unify the different moving parts.

Overgestapt van

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Inability to host on premise
Michele
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Verzekeringen
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

A great source code management platform

Beoordeeld op 30-11-2023

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement.
Very easy and...

GitLab has all the features my team needs for source code control and manegement.
Very easy and intuitive to set up different group of users, projects, repositories with different levels of access.
The GUI is also very neat and simple.

Pluspunten

GitLab allows you to quickly set up an on-premise platform for source code control.
Good integrations with CI/CD and very clean GUI.

Minpunten

Learning how to effectively use a versioning tool can be quite difficult for non-technical users.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

We needed an on-premises source-code management platform for security reasons.
Adam
Adam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Extremely powerful and robust Git repo solution.

Beoordeeld op 11-2-2021

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even...

My experience with Gitlab has been great. It's become my main repository solution and I've even migrated my Github repos to Gitlab.

Pluspunten

One of my favorite features is the GitLab's feature flags. It's really easy to setup and associate with issues. Additionally there are a ton of client libraries for different platforms that make it easy to integrate into existing applications.

Minpunten

Gitlab has CI/CD features that I would like to use to automatically build and host composer packages and nuget packages, however it's difficult to setup and understand and I've found the documentation lacking.

Erle
Erle
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Managementconsulting
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

An excellent Source Code Tool

Beoordeeld op 5-5-2023

Quite happy with it. Coming from a very strong technical background myself, there were the usual...

Quite happy with it. Coming from a very strong technical background myself, there were the usual set of core features I was expecting, and it does those well. Plus, it allows me to have a good overview of things at a higher level (since I do know the tech stuff), without having to compromise the repository in any way. In brief, suits my needs well.

Pluspunten

Does what one would expect from any modern code repository and does it with a great intuitive interface. This is often an overlooked requirement, which GitLab does very well. The interface is intuitive and allows the user to do their job with minimal fuss and just get on with it.

Minpunten

The commercial pricing tiers can be a bit on the high side, and it can add up with many users - which can be just a bit daunting for growing organizations, but it can be handled if properly budgeted. Also, at times it can be slower than expected, but it's a fairly minor annoyance in my experience.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It offers a fresh new take on things, a great interface with good flexibility and the team were eager to move in a new direction.
Adolfo
Adolfo
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Overheidsadministratie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Gitlab as a source code management tool

Beoordeeld op 2-12-2021

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And...

Gitlab has enabled analyst programmers to carry out a centralized versioning of applications. And it has allowed us to manage the projects.

Pluspunten

Gitlab allows us to have a centralized repository of the source code of the institution's applications

Minpunten

We would like gitlab to have greater integration with other tools on the market.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It allows us to have an on-premise installation, instead of a service.
Shubham
Shubham
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 1.001-5.000 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

gitlab - aptly as they say that the world stores its code and provides features.

Beoordeeld op 2-2-2023

my experience has been a productive one.

my experience has been a productive one.

Pluspunten

what i like most is that it is a integrated platform for web development and distributed version control system which powers superior developer experience.

Minpunten

what i like least is the security features which are inbuilt are confusing to configure during authentication and no analytics for pipeline tracking.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

For it's user friendly and it's easy to use in CICD.

Overgestapt van

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

For it's user friendly and it's easy to use in CICD .
Dennis
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Automotive
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

One stop shop for planning, development, and operations

Beoordeeld op 12-10-2019

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing...

Making it easier to build quality into the software development lifecycle without sacrificing speed. Let the computers do the heavy lifting of building and testing the changes. Bake in DevOps best practices by default.

Pluspunten

Integration of CI/CD and Kubernetes for easily developing and running custom apps. Fantastic collaboration features like discussions, visual diffing. Some of this stuff you don't even get on desktop apps that charge big bucks. Frequent updates that inch its capability and usability forward. Good documentation. Wonderful community, welcoming atmosphere, pleasant to work with all the employees I've encountered.

Minpunten

Sometimes things break. When things are broken, sometimes it can take some time to be fixed, if you're not willing or able to fix it yourself. One of the consequences of such broad scope and feature development velocity. It would be advisable to keep another copy installed separately for testing updates before applying them to the live edition, if your IT has the capacity to do so.

Overwogen alternatieven

Redmine

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Nicer user interface, more frequent updates, larger community, more features. Helm chart deployment gets me all the things I need in my Kubernetes cluster to develop and deploy any and all web apps (or run existing ones).

Overgestapt van

Redmine

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Everything in one, better user interface, open source
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

A discrete item in your toolkit

Beoordeeld op 10-3-2020

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had...

It is easy to use and don't impose itself it's own way to proceed.

At some point gitlab.com had big performances issues, it was very slow. Even posting a simple issue was a pain. Those issues got fixed and it is now very fast. In case of maintenance or temporary issues, they have a very transparent way of proceeding and we always receive alerts and/or post mortems.

Pluspunten

You just forget about Gitlab. As it provide a whole devops toolkit, it integrates discretely in your workflow. It doesn't require training, and if needed for advanced use, it got an extensive documentation as any open source tool should have. The UI makes it easy to use without thinking about it. What you don't understand first, you'll find an usage if needed on day.

The fact it got integrated CI/CD is incredible. I am very reluctant to Docker technologies and wouldn't beat myself to deal with them, but I really like them the way they are integrated in the CI/CD: it makes possible to test the applications in a very efficient and simple maneer and improve the overall quality and security of my products.

Minpunten

What I really don't like is that, if it is possible do deactivate some feature of a repository because you don't use them, there are some that overload the UI and you cannot remove them because Gitlab use it as a way to make you upgrade to the next plan.

Corentin
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Git Super powers

Beoordeeld op 25-1-2021

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its...

I enjoy using GitLab everyday, whether it's at work or at home. It saves me lot of time with its CI/CD and allows me to have my private projects hosted on my own servers which is a must in term of privacy.

Pluspunten

GitLab is an awesome tool to use everyday. It is simple and easy to install on premise. The free tier is enough for any small business / team.

What really makes GitLab stands in front of the competition are its awesome CI/CD workflows. GitLab CI is incredible, you can do anything you want with it from building your sources, checking your code quality, deploying your projects... It is possible to make connections between various pipelines and have multiple repositories connected together to build your final "big" project.

Minpunten

Even if GitLab is simple to use, it's a big piece of software that can sometimes become slow on the web user interface.
Moreover the review system is sometimes not so easy to use compared to other competitors. Hopefully their are great browser extensions that solves this issues.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Needed better CI/CD.

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Free and open-source, easily host-able on premise.
Marc
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Customizable management system for any project

Beoordeeld op 24-2-2022

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have...

GitLab is overall a better alternative to GitHub and clearly suitable for experts who already have experience in versioning processes. Especially for academic processes, in which small steps are important, versioning through GitLab is easy to integrate into technical work processes. Likewise the adaptability to own needs is extremely simple by the CI. Particularly when it comes to the area of machine learning, for example, the registry or the CI enables the integration and management of trained models or, through the integration of GPU servers, the training of these without having to use a new platform such as Google Colab.

Pluspunten

GitLab is easy to use and offers a versatile range of applications. GitLab can be used not only for software development projects. Especially in the academic sector, institutions can use GitLab to persist the respective work steps and research data, data in general, and workflows. Version control is particularly helpful in this regard, as it allows each step of a work to be traced, and errors to be undone directly without having to do a great deal of extra work.
In addition, GitLab can be customized and the respective instances can be easily transferred to one's own infrastructure. The development team is also always open to new ideas and actually incorporates them.

GitLab is therefore not only suitable for software development, but for any form of project in which it is a matter of the step-by-step tracking of work steps.

Minpunten

GitLab can be quite overwhelming. It is particularly difficult for non-experts from the non-software sector to get to know the processes of GitLab, as GitLab is less focused on gamification aspects compared to GitHub. Therefore, a high level of preparatory work and expertise is required in GitLab. Likewise, GitLab is often very technical, which is understandable, but it would be quite conceivable that especially in the area of testing and CI, modular principles, like for websites, would be conceivable and desirable.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Google Drive

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Compared to GitHub, GitLab is much more customizable and suitable for experts. Compared to Google Drive, the versioning principle is convincing. Google Drive as a pure data storage is insufficient for larger, more traceable projects.
Nicolò
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Good set of features, integrated CI/CD

Beoordeeld op 18-2-2020

I've switched to it in some projects because of the better issue tracking features.
It also has a...

I've switched to it in some projects because of the better issue tracking features.
It also has a built in CI/CD service that is pretty good and can be used with external git services like github.
So far it's been good, I've heard there was a time where it was really slow but that was before I started using it. It may be not the fastest but i'm on the free plan so no need to complain. It can be self hosted too.

Pluspunten

It's got a free plan to try it out.
Integrated CI/CD.
Good enough issue tracking with boards.
Can invite different people with different permission levels.
Can be self hosted.

Minpunten

Issue tracking may not be as good as jire and other similar project, but it's good enough for most use cases.
The licensing thing may look weird as it's open source but not everything is free even if you host it.
Can be pricey if you want some features.

Damian
Damian
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitLab is the best for its CI

Beoordeeld op 10-6-2019

Pluspunten

GitLab CI is by far the most valuable feature of GitLab. Travis CI was the first one to offer a YAML-file based build system - but it's GitLab CI to make pipelines very flexible and expressive. While Travis was okay for most popular languages in open source projects. GitLab made it possible to run enterprise-grade pipelines with many stages, each having multiple simultaneous jobs. This, plus git repository, Docker registry, and several other tools, making it a complete solution - starting from an early development cycle, through build, to deployment and monitoring thereof.

Minpunten

Several pages perform bad, e.g. pipelines list in big projects. Some pages don't have search and sorting. These are minor issues though.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Lack of proper, tightly-integrated CI.

Overgestapt van

GitHub
Piotr
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Best git management tool on the market

Beoordeeld op 24-8-2022

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management...

I was using GitLab for a year and a half and I have to admit that it was the best git management tool I ever used. Everything that is needed by the user is already built-in. CI/CD is handled brilliantly and can be quickly set up without a lot of training before. The whole app is intuitive and easy to use (especially if a user has some experience with similar apps). Documentation is big and contains not only facts but also examples, which allows saving a lot of time during debugging or introducing new functionalities. GitLab is well known around the internet, so community support is also good. If a user has some problem, it is probably resolved inside documentation or in one of the web forums. The flexibility of GitLab is huge. It can be easily adjusted to a company's needs without any problems. Processes may be set up differently in various projects and integration between them is almost seamless.
On the other hand, the price per user is quite high, especially on better plans, so GitLab can quickly become expensive in bigger companies. The second disadvantage is that some less-known tools cannot be integrated with the app. However, the list is being extended and devs are listening to a community so the more some app integration is needed, the more likely it is.
In my opinion, GitLab is the best git management tool I ever used - particularly because of CI/CD. If you can afford the price, it is worth it!

Pluspunten

A huge number of features.
Intuitive and easy to use.
Extensive documentation and good customer service.
Flexibility of customization.

Minpunten

It can become expensive, particularly if the company has many users.
Some less-known external tools cannot be integrated.

Martin
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Cheap source code management tool

Beoordeeld op 21-2-2023

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Perfect choose if you need cheaper and open-source source code managing tool.

Pluspunten

The most important feature is source code managing tool. App provides interface for GIT client. Creating a merge request is easy and you don't need to use console, it is possible to achieve this goal also on mobile! Another most important feature is CI/CD integration. Gitlab provides its solution to do this. You can define configuration and run tasks on GitLab runner, which can be easily installed on any server.

Minpunten

It provides a less functions than other software and a UI is a bit non modern.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Redenen om voor GitLab te kiezen

Cheaper product.

Overgestapt van

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

Cheaper product.
Isam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Automotive
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

GitLab: Efficient and Collaborative Software Development Platform

Beoordeeld op 28-9-2023

GitLab is a handy tool for making software. It helps keep track of changes to the project, makes it...

GitLab is a handy tool for making software. It helps keep track of changes to the project, makes it easier to test and fix problems, and even has tools for keeping the project secure. Everything is in one place, so it's easier to organize. Some people might find it a bit tricky at first, but with practice, it becomes more straightforward. Whether for big companies or small groups, GitLab is a useful friend for building software.

Pluspunten

GitLab stands out because it's an all-in-one platform for software development. It covers everything from storing code to testing, security, and teamwork. Developers in my team work together more easily and efficiently. GitLab also supports automation and follows best practices, making it great for speeding up development and ensuring good software quality. It's user-friendly, versatile, and works well for various types of projects.

Minpunten

One common drawback of GitLab is its relatively steeper learning curve, especially for new users or smaller teams. The platform's extensive feature set can be overwhelming, and the complexity of its interface may require some time to become proficient.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

It is less expensive
Thiago
Thiago
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Great for DevOps teams

Beoordeeld op 31-12-2020

Pluspunten

GitLab has all the must-have features for complete development and deployment flow.
The easy-to-configure pipeline is a differential, mainly due to the possibility of installing the agent (GitLab runner) in our infrastructure.
Issue management and merge requests are excellent and do not fall short of your direct competitors.
I use the GitLab in the cloud (SaaS) and on-premises, and it supplies my DevOps needs and team collaboration on the code review process.

Minpunten

On bitbucket, it is possible to see in realtime when a coworker is reviewing the merge request (pull request). It would be great to see this feature on GitLab too. The Runner registration is a bit harder when using an automation like Ansible.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub

Overgestapt van

Bitbucket

Redenen om over te stappen op GitLab

The gitlab pipeline feature.
Goran
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

GitLab - one-stop solution for development and source control

Beoordeeld op 20-5-2022

I've been using Gitlab both as part of a company and as an individual. It fit both needs. You can...

I've been using Gitlab both as part of a company and as an individual. It fit both needs. You can also switch on/off some of the features and simplify the experience if you don't want to use the CI/CD for example.

Pluspunten

I believe this is the best Github competitor which offers more configuration flexibility in setting up your development lifecycle.

Minpunten

The menus are not very UX friendly. There are lots of options when using Gitlab and sometimes is hard to find the particular section you need. It's annoying but having in mind all the good things that Gitlab offers, it's negligible.

Overwogen alternatieven

Bitbucket

Overgestapt van

GitHub
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Gitlab: Great repository mangement tool

Beoordeeld op 23-5-2021

The overall experience of using Gitlab is amazing. I really like the UI and UX of gitlab.

The overall experience of using Gitlab is amazing. I really like the UI and UX of gitlab.

Pluspunten

I really love the issue board (Kanban board) feature which is very user friendly and easy to track the progress.
I also like the CICD feature.
I find the UI and UX of Gitlab is simple and easy.

Minpunten

I almost like everything of gitlab.
But I feel that a gitlab is little expensive to run CI/CD pipelines.
We may have some issues while running the multiple parallel nodes for CI/CD integrating with the kubernates cluster.

Overwogen alternatieven

GitHub en Bitbucket

Overgestapt van

GitHub en Bitbucket
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Financiële dienstverlening
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Conveniently, my favorite repository.

Beoordeeld op 25-4-2023

Using GitLab has given my team access to a diverse array of collaboration tools that span issue...

Using GitLab has given my team access to a diverse array of collaboration tools that span issue tracking, code reviews, test building, time tracking, and more. By leveraging these tools, we've been able to improve communication throughout our projects. One of the greatest benefits of GitLab, however, is the broad, real-time visibility it provides for our projects. With this visibility, we can easily identify bottlenecks and make data-driven decisions that help us stay on track and meet our project goals.

Pluspunten

One of the things I admire most about GitLab is its open-source nature, which means that a vast community of users is constantly working to expand the platform's capabilities and use cases. I am particularly impressed with GitLab's robust branching and merging capabilities, which enhance its version control protocol and make it easy to manage even the most complex codebases by providing access to all versions of our codebase.

Minpunten

When working with large codebases on GitLab with multiple collaborators, it's not uncommon to experience slower load times and sluggish navigation. Additionally, while GitLab offers a range of integrations with third-party tools and services, there is certainly room for improvement in this area.

Caleb
Caleb
Totaalscore
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Fantastic git project management tool with good integrations

Beoordeeld op 9-2-2018

Pluspunten

Full suite of tools including but not limited to repository and issue tracking, milestones & issue boards, group and user management including project and even branch level permissions, continuous integration, scheduled jobs, project wiki, etc. All the features work together and using it to manage projects tends to pulls the details together rather than fragmenting them across different spaces.

The general workflow is similar enough to Github that most developers find it familiar. In fact there is probably feature parity or beyond, so other than needing another account there has never been much resistance to adoption among our developer team. At the same time the interface well designed enough for non developers to figure it out and stay involved as well.

Minpunten

The setup and update process is somewhat cumbersome on bare metal (probably easier using dedicated virtual machines and/or their omnibus package). There are a lot of dependencies and assumptions about the environment that make it much the most dreaded package to upgrade on my production servers.

It does kind of make assumptions about workflow that don't hold true for all projects. While it is flexible enough to adapt even when using only a subset of features on a project, it can leave people a little confused and overwhelmed because all the other unused bits are still around in the interface.

Alejandro
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computergames
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Your trusted partner in software development

Beoordeeld op 27-10-2023

In my work with our company, we use Gitlab as a comprehensive platforma to manage our software...

In my work with our company, we use Gitlab as a comprehensive platforma to manage our software development projects. Gitlab allows us to host and manage our code respositories, making teamwork and version tracking easier. Additionally, we leverage GitLab CI/CD capabilities to automate build, testing, and deployment, allowing us to deliver sotware more efficiently. We also use issue tracking features and pull requests for code reviews.

Pluspunten

The features that impressed me about gitlab are Version Control, issue tracking, and the ability to automate development workflows through CI/CD. Thank to the intuitive interface and ease of use, it helps to easily implement it into projects. Also the possibility of hosting projects in the Gitlab cloud or deploying locally helps a lot to adapt to needs.

Minpunten

In very large projects, perfomance and speed may be slowed down. Also the advance configuration that Gitlab offers can be very complex for new users, some features could be simplified and made more accessible. Although Gitlab has a lot of documentation, more tutorials and examples would be needed to fully take advantage of Gitlab.