WooCommerce

e-commerce-platform voor WordPress

Totaalscore

4,5 /5
(535)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,6/5
Functies
4,5/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,2/5
Klantenondersteuning
3,9/5

94%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

535 reviews

Daniel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Excelent ecommerce platform with great SEO built in

Beoordeeld op 1-9-2022

I'm in love with WooCommerce as ecommerce platform. My company build a whole business around it. It's reliable, easy to work with and backwards compatible.

Pluspunten

WooCommerce is cost effective and has a great community behind, both volunteers and business oriented

Minpunten

Being a WordPress plugin, you have to be careful with overdoing by installing other plugins. Performance it's an issue.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

WooCommerce has all the advantages of WordPress when publishing content.

Overgestapt van

PrestaShop

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Our team has an extensive experience with WordPress, so WooCommerce was a natural choice
Roldan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Design en ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Needs more improvements!

Beoordeeld op 6-9-2022

You can build your e-commerce with it. But you have to be extra technical to build it.

Needs improvements, definitely.

Pluspunten

First off, WooCommerce is the first choice when it comes to fast e-commerce website. It is CMS-based, offers large library of extension for all and varied e-commerce demands, offers considerable customizability. Knows what the e-commerce industry needs.

The thing that I like most about WooCommerce is it's large libraries of extensions. It's less likely that you'll ran out of options when it comes to customizing the function of your store.

Minpunten

Branding. When you want to customize your store to strictly follow your branding guidelines, this is where WooCommerce falters. There is not much you can do with the checkout page, cart page, thank you page, my account page and all.

Extensions tend to be expensive. Even those that have simple functions.

Common sense functionalities are not added. It's either you have to install a third-party plugin or buy there own extension, or code it for yourself.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Not yet. Planning to try Shopify. BigCommerce etc...
Cynthia
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 1.0 /10

It’s ok

Beoordeeld op 4-9-2022

I don’t both anymore with customer service, waste of time in the years I have used it it’s always the same remove plugins, and basically tear your site apart.

Pluspunten

Its cheap, hard to beat free, and you can launch an e-commerce store with little money.

Minpunten

Steep learning curve, inventory management is non-existent especially considering options like on Shopify, doesn’t include UPC codes as a default, shipping and coupon settings out of the box are nill, you need a plugin for everything. It’s heavy and slow requires a lot of server resources

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify
Sergio
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

Best Free E-commerce Website Builder

Beoordeeld op 17-9-2022

Pluspunten

Their free plan is enough to get a basic e-commerce store up and running. So I would recommend WooCommerce for anyone who wants to build their e-commerce shop with a very tight budget and if they are comfortable with techie stuff.

Minpunten

It is not newbie friendly, you should be a tech person and the user interface is not that friendly.

Overwogen alternatieven

AliDropship Plugin

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

WooCommerce is free, AliDropship's license is a one time fee of 89$

Overgestapt van

AliDropship Plugin

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

I felt that WooCommerce offers the same features and functionalities of AliDropShip but for free
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 5.0 /10

Good eCommerce solution if you have a good developer on your team

Beoordeeld op 6-9-2022

I'm fortunate to have a great web developer to handle any customization or trouble-shooting I need for my store. Being a pretty strong Wordpress user, this software was even a bit hard to use for me at first. Once a store is set-up properly, it is reliable for the most part. Just be careful of updates and integrations - make sure you test it regularly so that you don't lose sales. Otherwise, I would recommend this for your online store.

Pluspunten

There are countless integrations that can be bought or used for free which give a lot of additional capabilities. With a good developer to help you, you can do pretty much anything you want on your store. Getting started for free is a pro, but if you really want customization, you need the pro version and paid plugins.

Minpunten

It can be cumbersome for non-technical users. It requires a technical expert to set-up or customize and is not easy for a basic user. Edits and updates can be a pain and if one integration breaks, it can impact a sale.

Overwogen alternatieven

Duda en Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

It doesn't require a monthly subscription like Shopify and has a better user and shopper interface than Duda.
Elle
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Design en ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The only ecommerce software I use

Beoordeeld op 3-8-2022

Woocommerce is the only ecommerce software I use. I've built dozens of websites using it and am yet to hit any barriers.

Pluspunten

When a client wants to sell their products I always recommend Woocommerce because it ALWAYS does everything the client needs... and a whole lot more!

Minpunten

I wish it was easier for a low-skilled user to set up. But that's not a huge deal as I can do it for them... leaving them to purely monitor it after that.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Woocommerce is simply better in all capacities!
Stephen
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

WooCommerce can turn any WordPress website into a store

Beoordeeld op 9-8-2022

I have used several e-commerce projects using WooCommerce and it works very well.

Pluspunten

I like that WooCommerce is a free plugin, it is well-established, and many people use it. It is easy to get paid support from freelancers and consultants. It works well the PayPal and Stripe payment gateways and the MailPoet, email service platform.

Minpunten

WooCommerce often requires third-party plugins that can be buggy and difficult to configure. The codebase is old and needs to be updated to work with the new WordPress Gutenberg framework.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

My client already had a WordPress website and it was easier to add a WooCommerce store than to rebuilt the website in Shopify.
Patrik
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

WooCommerce review

Beoordeeld op 25-8-2022

We established Woocoomerce for our client, who decided to use it as the best option for her after evaluating other options. The client learned to work in the woocoomerce environment very quickly and soon became independent in most of the work.

Pluspunten

It is free
SEO-friendly
Huge possibilities and fast connection
Good security and compatibility.

Minpunten

We did not find any disadvantages that would prevent us from using the service.

Overwogen alternatieven

Wix en Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

The client chose between two options, shopify and wix, and the woocomerce service was the most advantageous for her. The service is free and provides everything necessary for a full-fledged e-shop that meets its requirements.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best Open Source E-Commerce Solution on Market

Beoordeeld op 18-8-2022

Pluspunten

As the solution is built on top of Wordpress Platform, setup and deployment is very easy and straightforward. Also, the sheer amount of customers who use Woocommerce makes 3rd party developers more probable on creating 3rd party app integrations.

Minpunten

Woocommerce is not as easy to use when compared to Shopify or Squarespace. That's the only drawback that I can think off...it's slight complexity.

Overwogen alternatieven

Squarespace en Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

We chose woocommerce due to the fact that it was completely open source when compared to other alternatives.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Maandelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 5.0 /10

Not for the faint-hearted

Beoordeeld op 4-8-2022

Overall I think WooCommerce is a fantastic free option but it has its caveats: it's not for everyone and you should expect to continue to invest time and money in managing it. Just because it's free at the outset doesn't mean it is in the long term. Ultimately it's a really professional choice and I will continue to work with it!

Pluspunten

I like the freedom and control that you have with Woocommerce. The fact that it's on WordPress also leaves endless opportunities for integrations. Ultimately, it's a highly professional option.

Minpunten

It's complex. Building a Woocommerce site from scratch would be a wild ride for someone inexperienced! Especially if you want to achieve any level of customization. Also, some of the official extensions are really pricey.

A Woocommerce site requires a lot more hours of work after the build, too. Managing a Woocommerce site and keeping everything functional is no small feat. If you're not a technical person and you don't want to shell out for someone to manage the site for you, use another platform.

Overwogen alternatieven

Duda en Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Desire to work with WordPress - mainly because of security and longevity.
Priyansh
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Animatie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Backbone of our whole online E-commerce Enterprise

Beoordeeld op 12-8-2022

6 year after we set up our business on Woocommerce, we still haven't found any other platform that would help run our shop. Highly recommended!

Pluspunten

We have been using WooCommerce since 6 years now. We had considered a lot of other software but none of them fulfilled our needs like WooCommerce did.
- Extremely versatile with a whole lot of customization options.
- Plenty plugins, themes and modifications available for free online.
- Proven and tested on millions of websites.
- Can hold considerable order load without clutter.
- Creates all the necessary pages and email templates on a one button click during installation.
- Tax options work without additional plugins, haven't seen that in a lot of other big name systems.
- The payment options don't take any cut for Woocommerce except the Woocommerce payment plugin.
- Has native support for digital products which is what we actually solely sell.

Minpunten

- The initial database set up is complicated. If the initial database is misconfigured, the whole installation will fall apart.
- Some stuff it generates is too bare, has to be extensively edited to make it look appealing.
- We used Elementor for smooth editing and creating our own pages as Woocommerce doesn't really have a good editor.
- Need maintenance continuously, or an update will break the whole website.
- Some plugins break native functionality as there are simply no "off" buttons for some functions provided by Woocommerce that you wish to replace.

Overwogen alternatieven

Wix, PrestaShop, Squarespace, Ecwid en BigCommerce

Overgestapt van

BigCommerce en Shopify
Angad
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Online media
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

It's Actually Very Good

Beoordeeld op 21-8-2022

Pluspunten

What I appreciate about Woocommerce is how simple it is to set up; with just a few clicks, it can be used as an online sales platform without the need for sponsors or other third parties, whose organizational structures prevent you from choosing the products you want to offer. With Wooocommerce, anything is possible: you can increase your client base, collect sales as you like using various currencies and payment methods, select your shipment method, and the consumer even has the option of handling the shipping themselves if he so chooses.

Minpunten

There comes a time when the plugin needs a lot of dedication, which entails hours of work based on the maintenance of the plugin and the compatible and dedicated plugins for Woocommerce. For this, you need IT knowledge based on application development, PHP code implementation, and web hosting management, which generally requires a fair amount of knowledge to understand or work with someone.

Overwogen alternatieven

Wix, BigCommerce en Shopify

Overgestapt van

Shopify
Tina
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Mediaproductie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

WooCommerce Excels in Ecommerce

Beoordeeld op 11-7-2022

I have been using WooCommerce for over ten years. I love the Ecommerce platform. I have tried their competition but always return to WooCommerce. They are always improving and adding plug-ins. My hosting is on Bluehost with WordPress installed as the CMS and WooCommerce as my Ecommerce platform. It's great. The only time I experience any issues is when a server glitches or goes down. I highly recommend WooCommerce as your Ecommerce platform!

Pluspunten

WooCommerce is a highly customizable platform with over 55,000 available plug-ins. The platform is open source as are thousands of the plug-ins. There are also premium plug-ins available. WooCommerce Payments is easy to install and deploy which allows you to receive payment for your products which may be physical or digital. WooCommerce is more customizable then their competition. Once you use this platform you will not want to switch. If you are paying for hosting separately, it only makes sense to use WooCommerce so you are not paying twice.

Minpunten

The learning curve for WooCommerce requires more effort than their competition, which is why it is more customizable. It is advisable to read the literature available on the WooCommerce website and access their help section for guidance. If you have any coding skills, you will be fine. Your SSL Certificate will not be automatically hooked up. On your hosting account you will need to install that. Also you will need to write your Privacy Policy, Terms of Service, and Return Policy and link to one of your menus. Make sure to add a cookie plugin so you are covered legally in the United States and Europe.

Eero
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Consumentenelektronica
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Great e-commerce tool --- unfortunately it is on Wordpress

Beoordeeld op 18-5-2022

I have several Woocommerce stores and deal with many others that are owned and run by other people. I have good experiences with it, it is a high-quality product and even if it is not perfect, it is light-years ahead of many competitors.

Pluspunten

It is free but still offers all necessary functionalities to start and run an online store. It is easy to use and there are a lot of extra functionalities available, some paid, some free.

Minpunten

The biggest dislike I have is that it runs on WordPress. It is very unfortunate, but we must live with it. Another dislike is that some of the 3rd party functionalities are very expensive compared to what they offer. The pricing is the same for a tiny new store and a well-established big online giant. I would rather see some other kind of pricing models for some of the plugins, but...

Overwogen alternatieven

Wix, Squarespace en Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

i still have J2Store-based stores too, but that software is not developing fast enough, unfortunately. Maybe new version comes soon. Magento is a relic, and I will try to stay away from it after few mistakes in the past.

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Shopify has a lot of hype around it, but when you start using it you will find out its shortcomings - which there are many. For example, try creating discount campaigns while offering individual coupons and see how well that goes. They have promised to fix the basics for years, but I lost hope waiting. Wix and Squarespace might be easy options for non-techies, but have serious limitations if you want to do more customized stores. Plus, with all of these three software, you are married to their service and servers, and there is no way out. Woocommerce store is built and you can move it somewhere else if you want, you can close it for a year and open it again if you want. It is yours. Wix, Squarespace and Shopify stores are not.
Diego Luis
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Complemento esencial para cualquier emprendimiento de Ecommerce.

Beoordeeld op 12-5-2022

Mi experiencia con este complemento ha sido excelente. Me pemitió automatizar mnis procesos de promoción y venta, aumentando el número de clientes y conversiones. Lo que más se aprecia es que posibilita la automatización, que termina en una significativa mejora y profesionalidad frente al cliente, además del ahorro de tiempo en cuanto a la gestión.

Pluspunten

-facilidad de implementación, incluso el propio complemento te ayuda.
-confiabilidad al 100%
-complemento compatible con muchas integraciones.
-se ajusta a las necesidades de la página web.
-gestiona pagos de forma muy completa.
-se integra bien al sitio web.
-permite muchos niveles de pesonalización.
-curva de aprendizaje muy pequeña.
-provee datos relevantes, y analíticas indispenables para mejorar el negocio y la atención al cliente.
-envía mensajes y notificaciones, automatiza muchos procesos y nos quita un gran peso de los hombros, a la hora de dar una imagen más profesional y eficiente.

Minpunten

-a veces puede tener problemas si hay complementos obsoletos, pero igualmente se puede solucionar aunque requiere un nivel de conocimiento un poco mayor.
-a veces puede fallar la descarga de algunos datos en CSV, si hay otros complementos obsoletos.
-No es una contra, pero para algunos usuarios puede serlo, y es el hecho de que tiene tantas herramientas e integraciones que requiere pensar un poco qué idea de negocio queremos implementar para elegir la fonfiguración más apropiada.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Por la facilidad de implementación, y por la capacidad de integración con wordpress que es realmente maravillosa.
Daniel
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Kleding en mode
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

C&U review of Woocommerce

Beoordeeld op 27-4-2022

Positive. Would recommend to anyone.

Pluspunten

Easy integration with plugins and other platforms. Inventory tracking. Order management. Refunds. Shipment tracking numbers.

Minpunten

Shipping profiles and actual cost of shipping rates. I find that the actual shipping rates will differ from what the customer pays to what we end up paying for a label. And in particular, international shipping costs are only available as a flat rate, and do not calculate an accurate cost. Making the difference between shipping from US to Canada the same as shipping from US to Europe.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

Needed to grow and customize our site. The inventory management on Squarespace was limited. And customizing on Squarespace did not allow for how my business was growing.

Overgestapt van

Squarespace

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Customization
Rosie
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Design en ontwerp
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

An excellent choice for newbies

Beoordeeld op 22-4-2022

Overall I have and continue to use this software on some of my websites as well some for my clients. It has been a great addition since having an eCommerce platform on a website without having to purchase additional software is fantastic. Since the free version of WooCommerce is pretty much all you need to get started. It is usually the additional functionality for extra features is what requires the add ins and or additional plugins.

Pluspunten

This software for WordPress sites to create an eCommerce store is great for newbies and the free version comes with enough features to create a pretty robust store. There are however other integrations required to take the store to another level. This may be things like being able to create a wish-list, add dropshiping products or simply have a popup cart. The point is all of this can be done with additional plugins that are free to use with WooCommerce free version, you can have a great looking eCommerce site that looks and runs very efficiently without spending a ton of money to get started. Being able to integrate drop shipping allows you to have a full store without spending any money on your inventory and without having to incur monthly costs for having the site.

Minpunten

Some of their best features require add ins that can get to be very expensive when you start looking at all the great features they can add to your store. There are other free and paid options but as with most software, it is better to use the ones built by the software makers rather than ones created by others. Simply put, sometimes basic updates can create conflicts between the software on your site and leave you puzzled with why your site is not working the way it was. This can get to be an issue if you are new to the game and don't know how to troubleshoot your website issues.

Will
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

WooCommerce for Downloadable Products and Subscriptions

Beoordeeld op 22-12-2021

WooCommerce is an excellent solution for E-Commerce and can do anything you want it to. That can get overwhelming at times, as there as sooo many options to dig through. But, on the plus side, you can find an add-on or find a plug-in that will solve any issue you have.

Pluspunten

I moved to WooCommerce (from a combination of other plug-ins) because I wanted one platform that I could sell downloads ala carte, and sell subscriptions. I previously used multiple different platforms and solutions to make managing downloads and subscriptions happen, and Woo allows me to manage all products and offerings I have in one place.

Minpunten

Moving subscriptions from an existing plug-in with active subscriptions through Stripe to WooCommerce was a big process. I did a lot of research and reached out to various developers and was looking at a $4,000 plus custom development support solution to make the transition happen. I did enough research and testing that I was able to make the transition happen over a weekend, without any additional support. In addition to the struggle of transitioning subscriptions, I learned that WooCommerce doesn't use Stripe's "subscription" feature but instead creates a new charge each month, until the customer cancels. So metrics are very difficult.

Overwogen alternatieven

Podia, Thinkific en Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

I still LOVE both RCP and EDD and they are very easy, powerful solutions. But, I kept finding myself trying to string together solutions to manage both a ala carte download store and subscription management.

Overgestapt van

Easy Digital Downloads

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

I needed something that would allow me to manage courses and downloads, as well as offering subscriptions. I also needed something that could accept subscriptions via Stripe so that I could transfer existing Stripe subscriptions to the new platform. WooCommerce allowed for that.
Steph
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 4.0 /10

Decent Depending on What You Need it For

Beoordeeld op 29-7-2021

It's great for small shops. It works best for simple things, especially affiliate products. Can be cumbersome for growing shops. You need at least some Wordpress experience. Requires a decent amount of maintenance. Overall, I'd give it a 3 out 5 stars.

Pluspunten

Woocommerce is a really inexpensive way to get started with ecommerce. It's great if you're just starting out and on a tight budget since it is a free plugin. It also depends what you're using Woocommerce for. It works the best for affiliate products.

Minpunten

Although Woocommerce is free, it does help to have some knowledge of Wordpress and basic development skills to effectively use it. Otherwise, using a paid ecommerce software is much easier. I've used Woocommerce for years and it can become very heavy and cumbersome with the more products you add. It's gotten a lot better over the years, but the functionality can still be tricky and you need to install a lot of plugins to customize it to your various needs. Code, plugins, Wordpress, etc., can also easily break your site from updates and conflicts. There's a lot of maintenance that goes into a Wordpress site and that's maximized with Woocommerce. I find other ecommerce software to be much easier to use and be less of a headache, especially for a beginner.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Just needed an extremely simple affiliate product ecommerce software. If I was selling a good amount of products or needed something that's extremely easy to use and doesn't require much maintenance, then I'd go with a paid software.
Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Virtually anything is possible with WooCommerce

Beoordeeld op 9-5-2021

Having built many WooCommerce stores for our web clients, it's by far more extensible and flexible than Shopify, et al. You're not locked into one mode of operating, which is important for many businesses with unique needs. With WooCommerce your online store can change as your business needs change. Virtually anything is possible, given you have the technical skill or can afford a developer to implement it.

Pluspunten

WooCommerce is the most powerful e-commerce platform for any small to medium-sized business who can't afford to custom code their own store from scratch. If you need features not found in Shopify, Squarespace or Wix, WooCommerce is the answer. With its galaxy of third-party plugins and extensive online support, there's virtually no limit to what you can build.

Minpunten

Building and managing a WooCommerce store can be difficult, depending on your technical skills and the complexity of your store. Also, while there are many free WooCommerce plugins, there are many more that require paid subscriptions. These subscriptions can add up. Frankly, if your needs are basic, review Shopify and other SaaS e-commerce platforms first before considering self-hosting with WooCommerce.

Overwogen alternatieven

Squarespace en Shopify
Abby
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: Zelfstandig ondernemer
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Best e-commerce option by mixed feelings

Beoordeeld op 29-4-2021

I use WooCommerce daily for multiple clients' websites. My clients are happy with their e-commerce functionality and I rarely encounter issues from the webmaster side of things. You have the option to customize it to the extreme, or if your selling needs are basic, you can setup an e-commerce site quickly and very easily.

Pluspunten

First, it's free. That's not entirely true though because anything additional you want to add will likely cost money; most add-ons are $79. Still even if you get two add-ons, $160 a year is a drop in the bucket compared to most other e-commerce.
The MAIN reason I use and recommend Woo is it's compatibility. Because it's so widely used, it can integrate with anything and everything. Every bank has a payment gateway that connects to WooCommerce (via plugin - sometimes free, sometimes $79).
It's relatively user-friendly. When you get into the settings though, there are tabs across the top, but then there are little tiny links within the tabs sometimes that aren't easily spotted.

Minpunten

Sometimes it feels like a monopoly - like you use WooCommerce or Shopify and the later of the two is dreadful.
The WordPress community is incredibly helpful, but you have to know where to go to ask for help.

Overwogen alternatieven

Squarespace

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

The ability to customize WooCommerce is so much greater than any of the DIY site builders. You can control variations like size, color, case size. You can manage inventory. You can accept payment through any bank's gateway or any of the main credit card processors. You can control and customize the emails that clients get.
Greice
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Light, stable and affordable

Beoordeeld op 15-4-2021

My experience with wordpress could not be better, it is light and can be easily run on cheaper hosting.

Pluspunten

The best quality of wordpress in front of its opponents is really the huge community that makes us find plugins for practically everything we want to do, and even when we don't find it we can find someone who is willing to do it for an affordable price.

Minpunten

Plugins are constantly developing and can sometimes create some incompatibilities, which is normal, but the speed with which these problems are corrected is another strength of wordpress since all systems are subject to problems but quick solutions I find with wordpress.

Overwogen alternatieven

Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

Magento was very heavy and required too much hosting.

Overgestapt van

Adobe Commerce

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

The number of plugins is much greater and so is the user community.
John
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

WooCommerce - Great system! Not perfect! But is anything really perfect?

Beoordeeld op 28-1-2021

I personally believe the 'pros' outweigh the 'cons' when considering WooCommerce as an E-commerce platform. I've built multiple sites using WooCommerce that would have $cost tens of thousands of dollars had a Developer been required to code all of these functions. My advice would always be - find a high quality / low-cost Developer (using one of the online labour aggregator sites e.g. Upwork) who has a wealth of recent WooCommerce experience (particularly with the functionality you are looking to achieve) and accept that not everything will work perfectly (or even be compatible) straight 'out of the box'. At the end of the day, if you priced all of the code that has been contributed to make WooCommerce what it is today - it would probably cost $billions to rebuild. So the next time you're criticising 'free' - remember that nothing is ever free.

Pluspunten

There are too many pro's to mention with WooCommerce, but i love the fact that it is Open Source which ensures thousands of plugins are available to extend the functionality of WooCommerce. And this is Woocommerce's biggest strength - It can quite feasibly allow a micro-size company to operate like an Enterprise (e-biz), including building end-to-end workflow automation across an entire business operation. Remarkably, this business panacea (end-2-end) can conceivably be achieved free of charge, or for only a few hundred dollars (plus A LOT of Developer and Administrator time).

Minpunten

WooCommerce doesn't come without Con's, and it's vitally important to recognise them. The main 'con' for me is the fact that because you have an 'infrastructure' that allows you to 'act' like an Enterprise - the temptation is to do so. This is where cost, resources, licences, etc can start to rack up. WooCommerce DOES NOT provide everything out of the box, but rather through a series of Modules (1st & 3rd party) that come at a cost. If you purchase from WooCommerce (Automattic) you pay a premium for each module (but you get support). If you purchase from 3rd party devs you typically pay a lower cost for the module (but the support is often questionable, as are the 'upgrades', 'compatibility roadmap', etc). So, although WooCommerce is an incredible toolset for building an Enterprise-style e-commerce platform, it is not always plain sailing.

Overwogen alternatieven

Adobe Commerce en Shopify

Redenen om voor WooCommerce te kiezen

Love Shopify as well (as WooCommerce), but feel that WooCommerce gives the owner more control, more functionality, and more opportunities to create an end-2-end digital workflow. But, there's also a lot to be said for having a simpler system that doesn't allow you to get carried away.

Overgestapt van

Shopify

Redenen om over te stappen op WooCommerce

Cost and functionality benefits are always the reasons why I always choose WooCommerce over its competitors.
Sarah
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

A great e-commerce solution, but still awhile to go...

Beoordeeld op 28-11-2020

WooCommerce is great in its e-commerce features but lacks where its obvious competitors are excelling in, turning it into a second-grade choice when compared to the likes of BigCommerce, Krepling, and Shopify.

Pluspunten

WooCommerce is great in its core product offering. It offerings everything one could ask for when looking to deploy an online store. It is simple and easy to use and also has a decent array of features. For WordPress users, it is a must-have if you are looking to deploy online selling functions.

Minpunten

Where WooCommerce falls short is its simplicity. Whilst platforms like Shopify, Krepling, and BigCommerce have mastered the ability to simplify and centralize the online selling environment and business management, WooCommerce has yet to innovate any of its central dashboards and interfaces. I have used WooCommerce for 3.5 years, and despite it being a very powerful selling tool, I have never been able to look past it being just a WordPress plugin. Entrepreneurs are still required to have their own separate hosting options and domain configurations, which require users to constantly jump between different support options just to troubleshoot errors. Not to mention how much WooCommerce relies on WordPress. Although I have no complaints about WordPress, its ease of building websites has not adopted a 'no-code' ideology, thus requiring users to purchase additional plugins like themes and modules.

Adam
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Groothandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

The formula of success and ease of use.

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2020

Back in the day, I was always attracted by that GURUS online promoting other platforms (Never knew that they were affiliates). I used other platforms for 1 month and it was really expansive, all the plugins are extremely expansive or they charge a commission/ Sale. Then I discover WOOCOMMERCE easier, more control over the hosting and servers unlike Shopify (They can shut you down anytime they want without giving an ounce of explanations), and more artistic designing the websites
From my point of view, WooCommerce can be described as Legit, Genuine, Beautiful, Educational never had any trouble ever since I started building websites it was always a +++ Income
IT'S 5 STARS

Pluspunten

WooCommerce it's beyond simple, I've personally been using this software for years (I even lost count) it has unlimited features:
-Connected to WordPress
-No more struggling for creating an eCommerce website, Online Courses, B2B platform, or more.
-It's simple just a drag & drop system no need for expertise or development skills.
-Best Worldwide Ecom platform and money saver, unlike others.
-Have more control over the servers and hosting
-The WooCommerce Community is everywhere around social media platforms and never struggle to complete a task.
- It's FREE TO USE and NO COMMISSION
-Multiple Plugins FREE

Minpunten

With Lack Of CMS, it might be a little hard to use, but after designing a couple of websites, then everything comes to a conclusion.