Segment

4,6 (71)
Schrijf een review!
Klantgegevenshub

Totaalscore

4,6 /5
(71)
Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
4,1/5
Functies
4,6/5
Gebruiksgemak
4,5/5
Klantenondersteuning
4,3/5

97%
heeft deze app aanbevolen
Sorteren op

71 reviews

Guido
Guido
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

All the info you need. In a snap!

Beoordeeld op 18-11-2020

Pluspunten

It is incredibly easy to install with modules for any kind of source (app, server, API, jacasript).
It sends coherent and consistent data to hundreds of destinations (I think there are ~200 and counting, but new ones can be added with very little coding), and new destinations can be added with no intervention by an engineer.
Among the destinations, there's also relational Databases: you can really track ALL actions of any single user of your system and having access to historical data with a click. This is amazing!
It offers an easy and intuitive privacy mechanism that lets you deleta data of a single users from multiple systems with a single click.
It offers common, consistent data to all different areas of a company: marketing, product development, finance, ... (and you can chose what different offices can see).

Minpunten

It is pricy: the cost is based on the average number of single users tracked per month and it's not cheap at all. So better to understand exactly how it can help you grow your business (and how you can fully exploit it) before you decide to adopt it.

Overwogen alternatieven

Salesforce Sales Cloud

Redenen om over te stappen op Segment

Easier to use and implement
Lewis
Lewis
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Chemicaliën
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

This CDP is great if you have a plug & play website, more tricky if you have a custom built...

Beoordeeld op 9-12-2020

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how...

The customer service team, while fast and responsive, was not particularly knowledgeable about how to get around these issues we were having with visual tagger, and thus we had to work with a consultant that had the know-how of how to fully integrate Segment with our website through GTM. However, now that we have gotten our custom Segment setup up and running, it is very powerful and we're able to communicate our website event and tracking data with a multitude of analytics and other marketing tools. So overall, it has been a challenging experience, but once you get it working, it is worth the extra effort.

Pluspunten

Segment was easy to setup and integrate with our website, using the Javascript code they provided. Also the Segment interface is well designed and easy to navigate. The settings for your Destinations are all clear and laid out, so you can make changes effortlessly. The neatest feature is the visual tagger, which allows you to create and track triggers/events on your website without having to code anything at all. It's great if you want to track very basic behaviors like button clicks or form submissions.

Minpunten

The most difficult part of Segment was when we wanted to track more granular data, such as user identities/emails. I believe if you have a typical website, built off of WordPress, or Shopify, you might not have these issues. But if you have a custom built website like ours, you will need some technical know-how in order to capture the finer data. For example, visual tagger did not work for us when we tried to use the identify call analytics.js, because our website stored user ID info on our data layer, not the presentation layer, which is only what Visual tagger can see. In order to access fields in your data layer, you'll need to use something like Google Tag Manager (GTM) to trigger and fire those events in Segment (shout out to McGaw.io for helping us with this!). So, if you have a more complex website, triggering certain events or getting fine granular data in Segment is not intuitive.

Or
Or
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning

Data loss and bad customer support

Beoordeeld op 4-4-2016

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you...

At first it sounds great, one stop shop for all you analytics needs. What they don't tell you is:
1. Segment API is far less reliable than any of the underlying analytics tools. I've never had any data loss with mixpanel, since I switched to segment I had 3 severe data loss incidents, one was a segment server failure, one was a result of Segment's API and the 3rd is still under investigation.
2. It's literally impossible to get proper support for urgent issues. no matter how much I emphasize the urgency, they'll send 1 reply a day, with the most useless information and ask the same basic questions over and over and over again.

Pluspunten

Reduce the amount of code that handles analytics and tracking
No real alternative

Minpunten

Unreliable.
Bad customer support.

Andres
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Flexible user analytics

Beoordeeld op 23-11-2023

We have had a great experience with Segment. Even just a couple of months of data gathering have...

We have had a great experience with Segment. Even just a couple of months of data gathering have already turned into actionable items.

Pluspunten

Set up was trivial, the API is easy to use and the real-time debugger is absolutely excellent.

Minpunten

Some capabilities around the events API is not immediately apparent until you get deeper into it.

Jonny
Jonny
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Financiële dienstverlening
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Segment - The Data Layer to Have

Beoordeeld op 2-9-2019

Segment solves the problem of add script once. Enable quickly.
Data flows and needs a pipe to...

Segment solves the problem of add script once. Enable quickly.
Data flows and needs a pipe to steer it in the right direction. Segment makes this easy.
Create a data science team in seconds and connect to a wide and vast number of tools and connections from Adwords to Facebook all the way through to iOS and Android. This covers many bases.

Pluspunten

Segment have built a best in class data layer and data management tool.
The tool is easy to set up and creating destinations and understanding sources is simple.

Add the code for Web, Mobile or a data warehouse. Then enable product and marketing teams to enable and disable marketing and product tools easily.

The new personas feature is also incredibly powerful.

Make collecting analytics .track and .page and .identify easy.

Minpunten

Segment does make data easy and because of the quality of the tool it does come at a cost. The benefit is it does scale with you because the price plan works on MTUs. But it really depends on the size of your business.
Beware not to over enable and connect too much if you are not using it. This will add un-necessary load which can impact mobile page speed.

Matt
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

The best Customer Data Platform around

Beoordeeld op 2-8-2023

Segment has been pivotal in our startup's journey, helping us to unify customer data and to unlock...

Segment has been pivotal in our startup's journey, helping us to unify customer data and to unlock invaluable customer insights across all our properties. Segment seamlessly integrates with our web app and entire tech stack and simplifies data management, allowing us to focus on our core business functions. Their support and startup program are top-notch. We're customers for life.

Pluspunten

Easy to use, amazing documentation, unparalleled functionality, and stellar support.

Minpunten

It's hard to find something to fault. We had to learn a lot about data structures, but Segment's documentation and resources made this straightforward. We're all the better for it.

Giovanni
Giovanni
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Marketing en reclame
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Useful marketing tool

Beoordeeld op 10-7-2021

great, it helps a lot in collecting customer's information

great, it helps a lot in collecting customer's information

Pluspunten

Segment is a great platform that allows a lot of different functions in customer's data collection. The best thing by my point of view is that a lot of marketing tools are ready to use, you have only to connect them to Segment and all the data will flow.

Minpunten

if your marketing tool is not on the list you have to code: that is not a bad thing, only you need a developer

Christopher
Christopher
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Voedselproductie
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Great software to remove the burden of countless API integrations

Beoordeeld op 25-4-2018

Saved a ton of dev time

Saved a ton of dev time

Pluspunten

It takes the burden off of our own teams to manage a slew of API integrations. This saves us a ton in developer costs in time, and makes it very easy to vet new tools for our analytics and marketing stacks.

Minpunten

Like any abstraction layer, not everything is plug-and-play. As you start to use more integrations, this becomes more complicated in it's own right, and you sometimes need to regress back to a standard API integration.

Steve
Steve
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Segment does all the heavy lifting so you don't have to

Beoordeeld op 7-12-2020

Pluspunten

A centralised place to standardise all of your data through ETL, analytics as well as computed traits that create consistency of information across operational saas systems. Segment's investment in protocols roadmap provides the tools required to address the automatic monitoring of data.

Minpunten

There aren't many things that come to mind.

Charlotte
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 6-12 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Very useful piece of software

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2023

Positive experience, able to connect up different platforms seamlessly.

Positive experience, able to connect up different platforms seamlessly.

Pluspunten

Enables us to unlock parts of our platform that we couldn't without it, feeding the data into other useful areas. Very easy to implement.

Minpunten

Not initially intuitive for a non-technical user, some more guidance on useful features would be appreciated.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Detailhandel
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 10.000+ werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

We could not have conducted marketing without Segment, and their staff is incredibly helpful

Beoordeeld op 22-8-2022

It requires the ability to manage various sources and multiple destinations while maintaining an...

It requires the ability to manage various sources and multiple destinations while maintaining an organized, consistent track plan. A system such as Segment is incredibly valuable for firms with several data sources and destinations that are continually growing.

Pluspunten

Our major objective is to monitor activity on our company's website(s), particularly user activity. Pre-built interfaces with marketing, data, and analytics systems make it easy for marketers to configure connectors without the need for engineering resources for each integration request. Segment has saved us time throughout the years that would have been spent connecting and syncing data amongst many technologies. Segment is a wonderful tool for us due to its intuitive interface, extensive documentation, and ability to debug events.

Minpunten

Some of the destinations and sources held by Segment and its partners can necessitate interaction with support teams (for example, SDKs, missing features, or bugs in functionality).

Tamás
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

A reliable tool for event tracking and syncronization

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2019

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are...

In our organization Segment is mostly used to track events from the website backend. There are other feature rich alternatives for frontend tracking but server-side tracking is not a priority for them.

Segment really saves a lot of software, devops and data engineer hours alike by reliable continuous data delivery.

Pluspunten

- Intuitive UI.
- Event tester on the UI.
- Several client libraries.
- You can sync even your backdata, e.g. when setting up a new warehouse.
- Pricing is based on users not events.

Minpunten

- Custom schedule for synchronisation or event validation is only available in higher packages.
- Some integrations just don't support a moderately sophisticated setup. E.g. if you don't want 1 million API calls a day you should construct specific Segment calls to update Salesforce leads.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Maandelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Addresses a major use case | requires a data architect to own the implementation and instrument...

Beoordeeld op 23-11-2020

Pluspunten

The ability to easily connect disparate sources of customer data. The ease of adding sources and destinations with or without native integration with Segment. The ability to insert third-party snippets on our site through Segment. The pricing structure of charging by usage rather than by seat, making it easy to increase adoption across the org.

Minpunten

Still requires technical support to map out the integrations and instrument the right tracking events in your app or on your website. Not all connections are intuitive and the UI makes it hard to find payload information and logs. I recommend pairing a business owner with a technical owner at the outset of implementation.

Overwogen alternatieven

Workato
Guruprasad
Totaalscore
  • Sector: E-learning
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Good tool for startups

Beoordeeld op 5-2-2019

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from...

Overall, it helps you to start really fast. We at www.quiznext.in use segment to collect data from our app and send it to warehouse, firebase, fb etc.

Pluspunten

Easy setup, Easier to collect data and send to warehouse. Integration with other tools is easy.

Minpunten

Not all integrations are seemless. Many integrations require client side app installation, which just reduces the code a bit. Once you start attracting decent users, it turns out to be expensive and need to look for alternative tools.

Ludwig
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Love it!

Beoordeeld op 30-6-2023

Pluspunten

Makes my life as a data scientist/product manger so much easier

Minpunten

Nothing to dislike really. Maybe that you have to pay a lot for some of the nicer features such as more control of the data.

Andrew
Andrew
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 1+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Great for integrating product with multiple products and extending over time

Beoordeeld op 31-8-2020

Integrating with multiple other products, it's meant we can add additional products without...

Integrating with multiple other products, it's meant we can add additional products without changing our core product or needing development time. It's meant we can add and test new products and decide if we want to keep them or drop them without needing development to do it.

Pluspunten

The ability to set and forget it, essentially set it up when you launch the product and then needs very little maintenance or hand holding to do the job, and do it well.

Minpunten

Did feel complicated to set up, and to look into the workflows. Having said that once set up they've worked perfectly and we haven't had to keep working on them.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Gezondheid, wellness en fitness
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Segment for analytics integration

Beoordeeld op 3-9-2020

- Great experience, easy integration, saves a lot of time when working with multiple analytics...

- Great experience, easy integration, saves a lot of time when working with multiple analytics services

Pluspunten

- easy integration
- can work with many analytics Saas vendors

Minpunten

- can be better with some data visualization capabilities

Overwogen alternatieven

Amplitude en Mixpanel

Redenen om over te stappen op Segment

Integration to many services
Erick
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 1-5 maanden lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Prático e simples de implementar, mas não funciona sozinho

Beoordeeld op 16-9-2022

Pluspunten

O Segment tem sido uma ótima ferramenta para evoluir nossa estratégia de Product Analytics, principalmente pela sua simplicidade, "straight-forwardness", facilidade de implementação e diversas integrações nativas. Com ele, estamos sendo capazes de agregar dados de diversas fontes e enviar para o Mixpanel, onde geramos dashs e relatórios, além de permitir o armazenamento em data warehouse.

Minpunten

Na minha visão, o maior contra é ser necessariamente dependente de outra ferramenta para visualizar os dados coletados pelo Segment. Nesse ponto, outras ferramentas mais dedicadas a Product Analytics tem vantagem, por serem capazes de reunir quase tudo em um produto só.

Overwogen alternatieven

Amplitude, Heap en Mixpanel

Redenen om over te stappen op Segment

Pela capacidade e facilidade de agregar dados de diferentes fontes, além do próprio produto, para gerar uma visualização única, holística e omnichannel.
Fayssal
Fayssal
Totaalscore
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Segment is a great tool, if you can afford it then you should start using it right now.

Beoordeeld op 31-7-2018

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Always happy to recommend segment ! A great tool.

Pluspunten

The last tool to integrate with various apps. Write once and integrate infinitely.
Time saving is worthless and make your app load much faster.

Minpunten

Pricing is not small businesses friendly ;(
Would be great if we can write and view integrations comments from other users.
Please share future integration pipeline.

Andrii
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 501-1.000 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Segment - the best system to control and analyze your customers!

Beoordeeld op 23-11-2020

I integrated Segment with the Drupal 8 site. I’m supporting it and improve.

I integrated Segment with the Drupal 8 site. I’m supporting it and improve.

Pluspunten

The great debugger web-based tool. The tool to create audiences to group users by some properties or events.

Minpunten

All if fine. I can’t even be thinking about cons. Probably would be great to have the ability to copy data between sources.

Geverifieerde reviewer
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Vervoer/over de weg/per spoor
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 51-200 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 9.0 /10

Must have software

Beoordeeld op 28-11-2018

Pluspunten

Not sure how one can manage app and web tracking without Segment.
It quickly enables you to track millions of events and funnel it to the appropriate tools like advertising, analytics, salesforce ... without engineering power

Minpunten

The capacity to decide which events are sent to each vendors to limit data overusage

Altaf
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Informatietechnologie en -diensten
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Modern data consolidation solution

Beoordeeld op 25-10-2020

Pluspunten

There’s nothing out there that even comes close to Segment. With just a single integration we can funnel our data to all the essential tools that we use to run out business (Intercom, Amplitude, Google Analytics and many more)

Minpunten

Nothing specific. Everything works great.

Stefan
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Internet
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 11-50 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 8.0 /10

Key component to populate data between different services

Beoordeeld op 20-12-2022

Pluspunten

Ready made integrations with most critical SaaS services makes it easy to share data between systems.

Minpunten

The pricing model is sometimes not the best given how event intense your application is.

Srinivas
Srinivas
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Evenementenbureaus
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 2-10 werknemers
  • Dagelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Prijs-kwaliteitverhouding
  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Klantenondersteuning
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 10.0 /10

Segment Data collection

Beoordeeld op 24-10-2018

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Very good and solve the key pain point very well

Pluspunten

3rd party integration is very good , ease of use and whole ecosystem

Minpunten

Pricing after free tier is very steep instead of restricting free tier on no of sources it should restrict on number of data points or MAU

Vimal
Totaalscore
  • Sector: Computersoftware
  • Bedrijfsgrootte: 201-500 werknemers
  • Wekelijks 2+ jaar lang gebruikt
  • Bron van de reviewer

Totaalscore

  • Gebruiksgemak
  • Waarschijnlijkheid van aanbeveling 7.0 /10

Integration and journey

Beoordeeld op 24-11-2020

Its really good but not extreme.

Its really good but not extreme.

Pluspunten

This will be very simple to integrate with any website in short time. The clear understanding of user activities via your api calls. This event module will helpsl us to analysis what user did in the page and what they are trying to make it. If something's broken when user browse, we could pretty much identify easily by debugging via segment instead of searching our code base log files.

Minpunten

User funnel is not much as per the exception. When I want to compare the multiple user journey, I couldn't feel much.